PDA

View Full Version : New to Mac, new to the board...

mizzi
Nov 14, 2005, 04:48 PM
hey, what's going on?

my name is Mark, i'm a southern california based photographer who has been on a pc since day one... I decided after much research that Mac is pretty much the industry standard in dealing with huge photo files and web design so that's the route i've chosen.

yesterday i ordered a 15" Powerbook G4 with 2 gigs of memory. i have a 200 gig hard drive waiting to be turned into an external hard drive for the pbook (any suggestions on conversion kits would be greatly appreciated, a 15" sony bright screen lcd/flat screen monitor, icurve, and i got this killer messenger bag/sleeve from mac-cases. i'm going to be set as soon as it arrives.

anyway, as a very recent convert from pc to mac, i was wondering how easy it is to get used to a mac's way of doing things. i've played around on a few and it seems easy enough. where will i notice the biggest differences?

also...any suggestions on some cool widgets?

my apologies if i'm posting this in the wrong forum...

<3Mark

generik
Nov 14, 2005, 04:55 PM
Biggest difference is the one button mouse!

feakbeak
Nov 14, 2005, 04:56 PM
anyway, as a very recent convert from pc to mac, i was wondering how easy it is to get used to a mac's way of doing things. i've played around on a few and it seems easy enough. where will i notice the biggest differences?Welcome to MacRumors, mizzi. Most things involved with using a Mac are intuitive and you should feel comfortable using the different OS within a couple of weeks. I find most things more intuitive to use within OS X but the few things that are not intuitive are more difficult to figure out.