PDA

View Full Version : SD Card only mounts when I reboot with it inserted




dastinger
Jul 30, 2013, 09:53 AM
Hi,

I have a rMBP since mid 2012 and never needed to use the SD Card reader. Today I found my old SD Card adapters along with some cards. When I inserted the card, nothing happened.. tried 2 different adapters with 2 different cards. Nothing.

When I rebooted the rMBP with the SD card inserted, there it was. This happened twice with both SDs. If I eject and reinsert the card, nothing happens again.. until I reboot that is.

Any fix for this? Is my hardware defective? :confused:



ScoobyMcDoo
Jul 30, 2013, 10:02 AM
Do you have a third party app that might be intercepting the mount? For example, if I have VMWare running and I insert any external media, VMWare intercepts the mount and asks if I want to mount it with OSX or whatever other OS I might be running as a guest.

dastinger
Jul 30, 2013, 10:09 AM
No, I don't think so. I don't have VMWare installed nor any other apps that might be the issue. At least none that I can think of :confused:

The first time I rebooted with the SD card on, it took a long time to boot into ML and, right after I removed the SD card, it booted into the login screen. I immediately reinserted it and logged in. It read. After that, reboots were normal.

Also, I found this thread on Apple Support Communities but the guy did not find any solution either.. the problem is exactly the same though:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5163145?start=0&tstart=0

ScoobyMcDoo
Jul 30, 2013, 10:25 AM
Hmm. Well I can tell you that I am also running ML, but on an older MBP. I jus t plugged in my sony card reader and and inserted an SD card. It immediatly mounted the file systems that it could (This card has some FAT32 and some EXT3 file system, so it could only mount the FAT32 partitions).

Try opening "console" before plugging in the SDCard, and watching the messages that get logged when you plug it in. Those messages might give you a hint.

dastinger
Jul 30, 2013, 10:38 AM
Once I'm on my MBP, I'll do that and paste here. Thank you for your help so far.

dastinger
Jul 30, 2013, 03:08 PM
Ok, I got home and, after waking up the rMBP, the SD mounts fine. Both SDs on both adapters.

Once I reboot, I'll try again to see if it fixed itself. If it didn't, I'll post the log.