PDA

View Full Version : MBP to MBA?

mattbc
Aug 2, 2013, 06:18 PM
I have a late 2008 15" MBP unibody that needs upgrading soon. I've upgraded it to 8gb of ram and an SSD. (Specs: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-core-2-duo-2.53-aluminum-15-late-2008-unibody-specs.html)

I'm a design student so I use apps like Sketch, as well as Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. I may do some video editing occasionally.

Thus far, my MBP is (mostly) able to handle my workload. Does anybody know how the Haswell 13" MBA (i7/8gb) might compare or has switched from an MBP? I've seen Anandtech's benchmark comparisons, but they don't really seem to compare anything that far back. Thanks!

Sputnek
Aug 2, 2013, 08:12 PM
I'm almost certain that the 13'' i7 8gb ram can handle the work load, but I would go for a 15'' rMBP with quad-core processing if it's in the budget. It sounds over the top, but if you're in the business of designing then visuals will be meaningful I assume. This is just my opinion though, and I would wait for other responses to come about since I am not someone in the designing field so I cannot really give proper input on your needs.

NewbieCanada
Aug 2, 2013, 08:35 PM
Download Geekbench and run the benchmark yourself.

My guess is a modern MBA will be far ahead. Processor faster, SSD faster.

Of course screen size will be smaller, but you knew that already. :p

DisplacedMic
Aug 3, 2013, 07:32 AM
Download Geekbench and run the benchmark yourself.

My guess is a modern MBA will be far ahead. Processor faster, SSD faster.

Of course screen size will be smaller, but you knew that already. :p

agreed - heck, you don't even need to run the GB yourself, just look it up on their website. (http://browser.primatelabs.com/mac-benchmarks)

kahkityoong
Aug 3, 2013, 08:29 AM
There's not much difference in speed going from my 2011 15MBP 2.3Hz quadcore i7 upgraded to OWC 6G 480GB SSD and 16GB RAM to MBA 1.7/512/8 when using Photoshop.

NewbieCanada