PDA

View Full Version : Help with Handbrake




TrenttonY
Aug 3, 2013, 08:06 AM
Can somebody give me the exact setting for a movie (DVD) to put into Handbrake to get the same quality and audio as if I would buy the movie through iTunes (the low quality version not hd)? How to get it to fit iTunes, all iPhone sizes and iPad (Retina and non), like how Apple does it. Thannks! P.S is it a legal to do this? I have the physical copy, I did not download it illegal.

For windows.



blevins321
Aug 3, 2013, 01:52 PM
I honestly think that the ATV2 setting is good quality for nonHD video. I can't say it's the same, but I feel the quality is great. I use HD for most videos but some (romcoms for example) get the SD treatment.

MFL2012
Aug 3, 2013, 03:25 PM
For DVD I usually just use the "high profile" preset and check the web optimized box. File size is usually 1-1.5 GB and the quality seems very good. ATV2 setting works well too.

TrenttonY
Aug 3, 2013, 03:56 PM
Can you guys answer my exact questions?

MarcBook
Aug 3, 2013, 05:25 PM
Use the Apple TV 3 preset. It'll ensure the best quality.

satcomer
Aug 3, 2013, 09:35 PM
Well it depends. I find the presets in HandBrake are really good except for audio & subtitle settings (that you can change manually).

Darby67
Aug 3, 2013, 10:54 PM
I don't believe that Apple uses HandBrake so most of your questions on how Apple does it aren't really relative in regards to HB. In some cases I've seen the method that Apple uses inferior to HB.

But the Apple TV 3 preset seems to work best for me. But the other presets that the others in this post and you shotgun blast post in the iOS forum will work well. Best advice, since you're not in that big of a hurry, so some tests and decide for yourself.

TrenttonY
Aug 4, 2013, 12:53 AM
I have Video Codec H.264 (x264)

and a constant quality set at 15 RF

Is that good?

Darby67
Aug 4, 2013, 12:56 AM
Doesn't sound great to me, but you aren't giving much information. Much depends on your personal preference of quality and resulting file size.

TrenttonY
Aug 4, 2013, 01:04 AM
Doesn't sound great to me, but you aren't giving much information. Much depends on your personal preference of quality and resulting file size.

What info do I need to give? I want the standard definition iTunes movie quality? What settings do I need to have to get that?

glutenenvy
Aug 4, 2013, 01:35 AM
No. Encodings are submitted by the owners of the digital content and can change slightly between studios. Your best bet is to pick a preset in handbrake that sounds correct and see if it works across the devices you want to use instead of trying to copy like it is in iTunes.

Your content will have the legal notices you need to abide by to be legal.

TrenttonY
Aug 4, 2013, 02:00 AM
No. Encodings are submitted by the owners of the digital content and can change slightly between studios. Your best bet is to pick a preset in handbrake that sounds correct and see if it works across the devices you want to use instead of trying to copy like it is in iTunes.

Your content will have the legal notices you need to abide by to be legal.

Okay what is the best preset for high quality but low file size? and fits what ever iTunes iPhone and iPad, iTV thats what i want it for so point me into the right direction. please be fast i want to do this while im sleeping so its done in a couple hours. :)

Darby67
Aug 4, 2013, 02:04 AM
Read the suggestions in this thread. There are a few EXACT suggestions in this consolidated thread that for some reason you are ignoring.

Che Castro
Aug 4, 2013, 03:10 AM
Just use the ATV2 preset in handbrake like others said

TrenttonY
Aug 4, 2013, 06:50 AM
Just use the ATV2 preset in handbrake like others said

I know I'm getting repetitive but I can't get a straight yes or no. Will the ATV2 option make it the same exact quality as the iTunes SD version? And will it fit iTunes, iPad, iPhone 1-4S with the double tap to full screen and iPhone 5 don't have that because of the longer screen? Am I correct? I'm doing all of my scary movie collection, and I only want to do it once. Even for future devices.

shoewee
Aug 4, 2013, 11:04 AM
I use Apple TV 2 settings then import into iTunes. It works perfect streaming to Apple TV. If I want one of those on my phone/tablet, I will go into iTunes, click the video I want to put on my phone/tablet, and then click File > Create New Version > Create (which ever version you want, iPhone or iPad).

This will compress the video to a smaller file size with the exact same name.

My only issue is how to make it so the music isn't so much louder when it comes on than the talking. If its an intense scene with music and talking it gets so loud, then the movie cuts to something else that's quiet. I have to sit with the remote going up and down the entire movie.

I was told to change the DRC to 1 in the Audio section, but most of the movies I choose that DRC is grayed out. Any ideas?

TrenttonY
Aug 4, 2013, 06:08 PM
What's the difference between Apple TV 1,2,3?

spacepower7
Aug 5, 2013, 12:48 AM
What's the difference between Apple TV 1,2,3?

It's very complicated but for the most part if you are using DVD source, AppleTV 2 and 3 presets seem to be very similar with quality and file size (a few MB difference?) using the current version of handbrake and the source being DVD.

I'm sure there there are tech differences but hardly noticeable to the average viewer.

AppleTV 1 was a different beast and if you don't have one, don't worry about it.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 06:25 AM
It's very complicated but for the most part if you are using DVD source, AppleTV 2 and 3 presets seem to be very similar with quality and file size (a few MB difference?) using the current version of handbrake and the source being DVD.

I'm sure there there are tech differences but hardly noticeable to the average viewer.

AppleTV 1 was a different beast and if you don't have one, don't worry about it.

I downloaded a preset for iPad and iPhone (SD) and put it on my iPhone 4 and the black bars top and bottom are thicker then my bought downloaded movie from the iTunes store? I even created a iPhone version via iTunes and its the same.
And the volume sucks, when the volume is half way on my iPhone 4 you can barely hear it?

Darby67
Aug 5, 2013, 01:28 PM
It is likely that the movie you had was formatted that way on the DVD and is not the fault of HB. Can't help with the sound as I don't know anything about the downloaded presets that you are talking about.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 01:37 PM
It is likely that the movie you had was formatted that way on the DVD and is not the fault of HB.
Are you talking about the black bars?

MarkG21
Aug 5, 2013, 03:17 PM
Are you talking about the black bars?

Are you comparing the black bars on 2 different movies or the same movies.

On iPhones and iPads, black bars will appear on 16/9 (1.78:1) sources and 2.40 (2.40:1)sources. The 16:9 will result in smaller back bars compared to 2.40. On high def TVs, you will not see the black bars on 16/9 movies.

The black bars are normal. Without them you won't be able to see the entire movie (picture)

1.78:1 = picture is 1.78 times wider than its hight.
2.40:1 = picture is 2.40 times wider than its hight.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 03:33 PM
Are you comparing the black bars on 2 different movies or the same movies.

On iPhones and iPads, black bars will appear on 16/9 (1.78:1) sources and 2.40 (2.40:1)sources. The 16:9 will result in smaller back bars compared to 2.40. On high def TVs, you will not see the black bars on 16/9 movies.

The black bars are normal. Without them you won't be able to see the entire movie (picture)

1.78:1 = picture is 1.78 times wider than its hight.
2.40:1 = picture is 2.40 times wider than its hight.
I want to get the movie like this (Scary Movie 3 Bought through iTunes (SD)

:

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 03:34 PM
But I keep getting this (Halloween Bought DVD)

:

Darby67
Aug 5, 2013, 04:14 PM
Yes, two different formats, there is no issue and HB isn't causing it. If you have two completely different cars there will be differences, just as the aspect ratio can be different on two different movies.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 04:31 PM
Yes, two different formats, there is no issue and HB isn't causing it. If you have two completely different cars there will be differences, just as the aspect ratio can be different on two different movies.

So what could I do?

Darby67
Aug 5, 2013, 04:59 PM
Well personally I wouldn't suggest doing anything. There are settings on Picture Settings that only can fiddle with, in my experience it is best to leave it the way it was mastered. Best recommendation, leave it as is as it isn't an issue to begin with. If you feel that you can't stand it, you will need to get CDs with 4:3 ratio

MarkG21
Aug 5, 2013, 05:06 PM
So what could I do?

Unless you want to chop off both sides of the movie, Nothing. It is supposed to be like that. You can always double click to zoom in on your iPad but you'll just chop off the sides to get the full screen effect. I don't suggest that. Just leave it as is and get used to it, because that is the way it is supposed to be.

Its a wide screen movie. The movie is wider than your iPad. The black bars fix that for you.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 05:13 PM
I'm being ignorant but I don't understand how iTunes movies fit all?

----------

Well personally I wouldn't suggest doing anything. There are settings on Picture Settings that only can fiddle with, in my experience it is best to leave it the way it was mastered. Best recommendation, leave it as is as it isn't an issue to begin with. If you feel that you can't stand it, you will need to get CDs with 4:3 ratio

Can I change the ratio via picture settings, will that only change the "digital copy" not the DVD itself?

slothrob
Aug 5, 2013, 05:30 PM
Handbrake can't do anything that will change the DVD.

To increase the volume, try changing DRC to 1.

Using the "Universal" preset should make it work on everything.

15 RF is much too low. Try 19+.

Darby67
Aug 5, 2013, 05:33 PM
Likely because the ones you are looking at from iTunes are 4:3 format. No, HandBrake will not do anything to the disk.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 05:42 PM
What is 4.3's picture size?

dynaflash
Aug 5, 2013, 05:52 PM
What is 4.3's picture size?

Um, the older "square" crt style tv size. It used to be called "full screen" which of course was a misnomer.

mfram
Aug 5, 2013, 06:53 PM
As for the audio issue, I set the gain on the AAC audio track to +4 dB. That's under the advanced audio settings. Seems to create about the right volume level for mobile devices.

TrenttonY
Aug 5, 2013, 07:02 PM
15 RF is much too low. Try 19+.

Then why is 10 RF 30mb more the 20 RF?

Darby67
Aug 5, 2013, 08:22 PM
Not knowing what preset you are using does not leave a whole lot of room for letting you know how to answer your questions. The smaller the RF the larger the file and the payback in quality may be negligible. Most people suggest 18-22 with 20 being a pretty good standard. Because every movie is different, results may differ from movie to movie due to the complexities.

Most if not all of your questions regarding HB should be researched at https://trac.handbrake.fr

dynaflash
Aug 5, 2013, 10:56 PM
Then why is 10 RF 30mb more the 20 RF?

Good lord man. Use the preset. its bigger because you are using a higher quality setting. Btw, 10 RF is stupid and almost never used. The presets in hb are that way for a reason. If you want to max out a dvd source use and RF of 19 instead of the presets 20. Remember: the RF value is like a golf score, lower is better ( in terms of quality but as well file size).

As far as transcoding a dvd and having it be as small file size wise as well as good quality as an iTunes offering ... that will never happen.

Garbage in and garbage out. Apple is not transcoding from a dvd or even a blu ray for iTunes, likely studio masters (which I can neither confirm nor deny but take it on faith). The better quality the source the more you can compress it without losing perceptive visual quality.

Stick to the built in presets not some junk you downloaded on the internet until you learn more about what you want to do.

----------

I don't believe that Apple uses HandBrake so most of your questions on how Apple does it aren't really relative in regards to HB. In some cases I've seen the method that Apple uses inferior to HB.

Correct, apple does not use HB (though that would be a hoot if they did) but they also are not transcoding from a dvd or even a blu ray. Much higher res sources from the studios directly. HB will give you the best you can expect from a consumer level software transcoder given the sources. The x264 encoding library that hb uses has won pretty much every award that there is for speed and quality for the most part. But, again, none of us likely have access to apples sources they use for itunes encoding. From dvd the apple tv preset with maybe an adjustment to 19 instead of 20 is about as visually transparent as you are going to get with a relatively small file size.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 04:42 AM
Okay last question, I'm going to use the universal setting, but what's the difference from 19RF to 20RF when I hover the mouse over that it says "18 RF to 20RF is standard definition but 20RF to 23RF is high definition"? Does it mean 720p HD or just a higher quality standard definition? I don't have 720p DVDs so I don't want it to convert it to 720p when it's not and it using more space because it's 720p.

I put it to 19RF.

And is 720p DVD called Bluray? Or is it just all newer DVDs already have 720p?

priitv8
Aug 6, 2013, 08:20 AM
The constant quality RF setting has nothing to do with the frame size (ie 720 or 1080 vertical pixels). It only has to do with the resulting bitrate - how many bits are required to encode 1 second of a movie. The lower the bitrate (higher RF value), the more of original picture content the compressor needs to "throw away", thus resulting a softer picture.
BluRay is another disc created mainly by Sony (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blu-ray_Disc), to deliver HD movies to home. It has 25GB or 50GB capacity (compare this to 4.7GB or 9GB of a DVD), thus enabling to store full movie (120+ minutes) in 1080p quality, with HD audio and copy protection, extras and optional interactive Java applications (like games or BD-Live).
It's called BluRay, because it uses blue laser, instead of red laser (DVD), which yields a smaller reading spot - ie 1 bit can be represented by a smaller area on the disk.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 08:41 AM
When I add the source and have the preset Universial it says "width 720" then when I click on a different preset and back it says "width 706"
What up with is?

mic j
Aug 6, 2013, 08:48 AM
When I add the source and have the preset Universial it says "width 720" then when I click on a different preset and back it says "width 706"
What up with is?
Autocrop.

Per Darby67's excellent advice...read! https://trac.handbrake.fr

You said your previous post would be your last. You are getting tiring.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 09:01 AM
Autocrop.

Per Darby67's excellent advice...read! https://trac.handbrake.fr

You said your previous post would be your last. You are getting tiring.

How is that auto crop? I have it on univerisal when I add the source and it says 720 click on iPod it says 706 and I click back on universal it says 706. Why?

Darby67
Aug 6, 2013, 10:55 AM
Um, well, because it is auto cropping based on the setting. https://trac.handbrake.fr/

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 04:42 PM
The last issue I'm having is audio, half way with headphones on my iPhone and I can barely hear it, I tried the methods above but it didn't help.

dynaflash
Aug 6, 2013, 05:08 PM
The last issue I'm having is audio, half way with headphones on my iPhone and I can barely hear it, I tried the methods above but it didn't help.
So, you are saying that turning up the gain didn't help ? If thats the case there isn't much you can do. Get better headphones.

Darby67
Aug 6, 2013, 05:11 PM
You have the volume on the phone set to mid setting. Is turning the volume up not an option on the phone?

Have you tried adjusting the gain in HB? Post a screen shot of the settings you are using.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 05:20 PM
I only read turn up DLC, Ill try Gain, what level should I put it?

dynaflash
Aug 6, 2013, 06:04 PM
I only read turn up DLC, Ill try Gain, what level should I put it?

Its DRC. Personally for converting ac3 to aac I use a DRC of 1 and a gain of 3. However, try for yourself. As the previous poster suggested maybe just turn up the volume on your phone ?

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 06:25 PM
As the previous poster suggested maybe just turn up the volume on your phone ?

Maybe I want consistent audio?

dynaflash
Aug 6, 2013, 07:07 PM
Um, consistent as in how ??? Forget I asked, I really don't wanna know. Adjusting gain is the only control for audio in HB. Maybe you should do a few tests on your own to see what you like. Beyond that ... not much anyone is gonna be able to do for you.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 07:12 PM
Um, consistent as in how ??? Forget I asked, I really don't wanna know. Adjusting gain is the only control for audio in HB. Maybe you should do a few tests on your own to see what you like. Beyond that ... not much anyone is gonna be able to do for you.

I'll go slow, I have bought iTunes movies with great sound at halfway but this converted DVD doesn't so I want to make it like the iTunes version. not changing volumes between movies. I have to turn the volume all the way up for DVD movie but when I go to the iTunes movie I'll become deaf. Do you understand?

MarkG21
Aug 6, 2013, 07:52 PM
I'll go slow, I have bought iTunes movies with great sound at halfway but this converted DVD doesn't so I want to make it like the iTunes version. not changing volumes between movies. I have to turn the volume all the way up for DVD movie but when I go to the iTunes movie I'll become deaf. Do you understand?

I think that is being a bit picky. What not just buy the iTunes movie to get it the EXACT way you want it?

mfram
Aug 6, 2013, 07:53 PM
For the volume gain, try +4 dB. I think you'll find it works about right. Experiment with it. Try encoding just one chapter and set the gain to different levels until you find one that works for you.

TrenttonY
Aug 6, 2013, 07:56 PM
For the volume gain, try +4 dB. I think you'll find it works about right. Experiment with it. Try encoding just one chapter and set the gain to different levels until you find one that works for you.

Wheres dB?

Darby67
Aug 6, 2013, 11:21 PM
A pretty decent explanation of dB is here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Decibel

This thread is a first world problem. I'm not sure how turning the volume up from halfway to a point you prefer will make you deaf and it's probably better that you don't attempt to explain that curiosity.

I've always preferred ripping from my own DVDs/BDs and HB does an stunning job of transcoding if that is what the ultimate goal. The quality is better and more control. But for a user that really wants exactly what iTunes does and not what the DVD has I would suggest purchasing everything from iTunes.

TrenttonY
Aug 7, 2013, 05:37 AM
This thread is a first world problem. I'm not sure how turning the volume up from halfway to a point you prefer will make you deaf and it's probably better that you don't attempt to explain that curiosity.

You know what I mean but you want to look cute for the rest of the Macrumors usernames on this thread.

Darby67
Aug 7, 2013, 06:38 AM
You know what I mean but you want to look cute for the rest of the Macrumors usernames on this thread.
Intersting comment and it must be true if you beleive it so. But the fact remains, volume controls are there for the user to adjust to their preference. If you beleive that adjusting to your preference will make you deaf then obviously I want to look cute. Brother, I couldn't possibly begin to understand what you mean.

Farcical thread of impatience on your part and refusal to listen to suggestions. Seriously, 6 threads started in 6 different forums on your part because you wanted people to tell you exactly how to do something rather than taking minimal time on your part to learn and understand. Sigh.

mic j
Aug 7, 2013, 09:03 AM
I think everyone trying to help here, should consider whether they are being "played" and he is just perpetuating this thread for the sake of doing so.

dynaflash
Aug 7, 2013, 12:34 PM
I think everyone trying to help here, should consider whether they are being "played" and he is just perpetuating this thread for the sake of doing so.
They would call that a Troll iirc.

----------

Wheres dB?

Well, its hidden in the audio panel right next to where you used DRC as you said just to the left. Its under a column dubiously labeled Gain.

mic j
Aug 7, 2013, 01:44 PM
They would call that a Troll iirc..

I have to word my posts very carefully or suffer the consequences. ;)

mfram
Aug 7, 2013, 05:27 PM
Wheres dB?

If you have a new enough version of Handbrake, it's under the "advanced audio options" on the Audio tab when specifying an audio track. You should see a "gain" option. If you don't see it, get a newer version of HB.

TrenttonY
Aug 10, 2013, 04:51 PM
Should I have ''Web Optimized'' enabled? I will be streaming the movie from my computer from iTunes using Home Sharing, and I will be streaming movies from iTunes using Splashtop.

dynaflash
Aug 10, 2013, 10:23 PM
Should I have ''Web Optimized'' enabled? I will be streaming the movie from my computer from iTunes using Home Sharing, and I will be streaming movies from iTunes using Splashtop.

Web optimized interleaves the audio and video samples, and puts the "MooV" atom at the begining of the file, restoring the Quicktime "fast-start" (also known as "pseudo-streaming") ability of the file.

It may start streaming faster but does come at a transcoding time penalty as this process happens after the transcode since the file is rewritten (though this is *much* faster than the original transcode) it typically adds about 3 minutes to the transcode time for a dvd source, though ymmv.

Frankly I notice little difference on my setup in terms of streaming ( itunes to atv).

TrenttonY
Sep 28, 2013, 05:22 PM
Hello its me again, I stop using handbrake, but i want to do it again. I have question, Does handbrake and AnyDVD (the software) put anything on the disk or change any files on the disk? And is their any other software that puts cast and directors in? that is not Metax? I dont have any many to pay for it. IDC if i have to put the information in my self. I just need a software that will let me write it in.

priitv8
Sep 29, 2013, 04:59 AM
Subler will do your metadata, now exactly as it is in iTunes Store. If movie not in iTunes, you can search themoviedb.org.
PS you can set HB to open movie automatically in Subler (or any other program) after transcoding.

TrenttonY
Sep 29, 2013, 01:04 PM
Subler will do your metadata, now exactly as it is in iTunes Store. If movie not in iTunes, you can search themoviedb.org.
PS you can set HB to open movie automatically in Subler (or any other program) after transcoding.

For windows.

priitv8
Sep 29, 2013, 02:11 PM
For windows.Sorry, then you can ignore my previous recommendation.

TrenttonY
Sep 29, 2013, 04:15 PM
When i skip it doesnt do anything?