PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV - Movies Stuck on Buffering (1080P)




DJTaurus
Aug 4, 2013, 03:39 AM
I used Subler to add subtitles at my movies which i download most of them already on mp4's.

Some movies on my itunes play buttery smooth on my Apple Tv via Airplay..... and some others stuck on buffering in the beginning... and nothing happens... they stuck there. I tried ETHERNET connection and i didn't see any difference... movies which work via airplay play smoothly even on wifi....

Codec problem for Apple tv?



DJTaurus
Aug 4, 2013, 06:35 AM
I Just noticed that the movies who are NOT playable are those who are 1080P!!

For example the movie below is 720P and plays without problem.

426485

Cannot play it

426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!

mic j
Aug 4, 2013, 09:58 AM
Run them through Subler again and have Subler "Optimize" the file.

DJTaurus
Aug 5, 2013, 09:03 AM
Is there a subler option for optimize and where ?

mic j
Aug 5, 2013, 10:02 AM
Is there a subler option for optimize and where ?
It's in the File pull down menu.

DJTaurus
Aug 8, 2013, 10:49 AM
It's in the File pull down menu.

So i open the file with Subler and then i choose optimize. When its finished do i have to export it again (save as in a folder) or its ready to throw it back to itunes?

mic j
Aug 8, 2013, 10:51 AM
So i open the file with Subler and then i choose optimize. When its finished do i have to export it again (save as in a folder) or its ready to throw it back to itunes?
ready to throw back into iTunes.

Good luck, hope that solves your problem.

DJTaurus
Aug 8, 2013, 11:22 AM
ready to throw back into iTunes.

Good luck, hope that solves your problem.

Another matter i want to solve.

I wanted to change the default language on the Subtitle Track from English to Modern Greek.

1) Tell me if there is an easier way from what i did: I opened the file with subler, change the Language to modern greek and then i choose Save as in order to export the file in the desktop... the problem is that with these procedure the file that was working fine with airplay from mac to apple tv stopped working... stuck on buffering like the 1080p files who are not working.

2) Also tell me if i have to choose anything from the default settings below (for apple tv) before using subler.
427381

mic j
Aug 8, 2013, 01:43 PM
Another matter i want to solve.

I wanted to change the default language on the Subtitle Track from English to Modern Greek.

1) Tell me if there is an easier way from what i did: I opened the file with subler, change the Language to modern greek and then i choose Save as in order to export the file in the desktop... the problem is that with these procedure the file that was working fine with airplay from mac to apple tv stopped working... stuck on buffering like the 1080p files who are not working.

2) Also tell me if i have to choose anything from the default settings below (for apple tv) before using subler.
427381
Sorry, have never worked with anything but English audio/subtitle tracks and I don't want to confuse the situation trying to help in an area I don't have any expertise. Hopefully, some else will chime in to help.

priitv8
Aug 8, 2013, 03:25 PM
1) Make sure your sub file is named like that
moviename.gre.srt
so Subler will catch the language without you needing to select it later
2) There are no preferences you could preselect, but for one, you can save a set of metadata, if you need it more than once.
From my experience, Subler catches the movie type and resolution quite well from metadata and frame size. But that piece is saved in a saved set as well, if you need to reapply them later.
PS Sets don't save any of the language settings for movie tracks.
http://cdn.appstorm.net/mac.appstorm.net/files/2012/03/08-save-set.jpg

DJTaurus
Aug 14, 2013, 10:46 AM
Sorry, have never worked with anything but English audio/subtitle tracks and I don't want to confuse the situation trying to help in an area I don't have any expertise. Hopefully, some else will chime in to help.

The movie app of iOS play subler edited movies with a grey box behind the subtitles.... is there a way to remove that grey box with subler?

mic j
Aug 14, 2013, 10:57 AM
The movie app of iOS play subler edited movies with a grey box behind the subtitles.... is there a way to remove that grey box with subler?
Are you referring to the aTV? Are your OS's up to date? This used to be the way they were shown on the aTV (I don't have any other iOS devices). But this was changed somewhere in the last few aTV updates (and I would have assumed the other iOS devices as well).

Anyway to answer your question: No Subler cannot change that as it's not really there. It's added by the device you are viewing on. The gray background box was supposed to enhance the subtitle text visibility but got enough complaints it was removed. At least I thought it was.

DJTaurus
Aug 14, 2013, 11:07 AM
Anyway to answer your question: No Subler cannot change that as it's not really there. It's added by the device you are viewing on. The gray background box was supposed to enhance the subtitle text visibility but got enough complaints it was removed. At least I thought it was.

I tested on movie app on ios7 beta 5. Fortunately it has not been removed :(

Thanks anyway. Tomorrow i will test my apple tv if with optimize 1080ps are playable.

DJTaurus
Aug 14, 2013, 11:42 PM
Run them through Subler again and have Subler "Optimize" the file.

I just checked my movies with optimize. I am sooooo happy.... everything now is buttery smooth playable with wifi connection on Apple Tv. I dont know what the developer of subler has done but that program is damn fast!!!

Is Perian necessary for the mkv files?...i mean is there another way not to have installed perian on my mac?

mic j
Aug 15, 2013, 08:34 AM
I just checked my movies with optimize. I am sooooo happy.... everything now is buttery smooth playable with wifi connection on Apple Tv. I dont know what the developer of subler has done but that program is damn fast!!!

Is Perian necessary for the mkv files?...i mean is there another way not to have installed perian on my mac?
On the main page is a link to forum pages that provide links to files that provide the functionality that having Perian installed provided. With Mountain Lion, Perian broke and audio issues occurred. So the developer provided links to codec files that fixed the problem.

DJTaurus
Aug 15, 2013, 02:38 PM
On the main page is a link to forum pages that provide links to files that provide the functionality that having Perian installed provided. With Mountain Lion, Perian broke and audio issues occurred. So the developer provided links to codec files that fixed the problem.

Major issue: i changed the file in the library->audio->component and now i cannot add/drandrop avi's and on subler...i reinstalled mac os and the same problem occurs... where do i find the original file on the component faulder? :o

mic j
Aug 15, 2013, 03:49 PM
Major issue: i changed the file in the library->audio->component and now i cannot add/drandrop avi's and on subler...i reinstalled mac os and the same problem occurs... where do i find the original file on the component faulder? :o
I didn't think Subler worked with AVI's. Seen that as a feature request in it's forum, though.

Also, the path you outline above does not match the Sublers instructions: "replace the one in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components or ~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components".

Can't you just trash Subler and re-install it?

DJTaurus
Aug 16, 2013, 09:38 AM
I didn't think Subler worked with AVI's. Seen that as a feature request in it's forum, though.

Also, the path you outline above does not match the Sublers instructions: "replace the one in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components or ~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components".

Can't you just trash Subler and re-install it?

Thanks again.

Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.

mic j
Aug 16, 2013, 10:16 AM
Thanks again.

Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.
After you load your file into Subler you will see a subtitle track. Select that track and you will see a subtitle parameters menu appear below. There are options to scale the subtitle there. Just so you know, I have never done this (scale subtitles) so I have no idea if it works or not or if it does work, how well it works. IIRC from other posts here, the ability to scale may depend on the subtitle type (VOBSUB, PGS, SRT, etc). I suspect srt is probably the only one that you might be able to scale since it is a text based file vs the others with are image files.

priitv8
Aug 17, 2013, 10:54 AM
Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.I've got the impression, that Apple TV ignores the saved subtitle size and uses it's own based on picture size.
I mean, I have subs much better readable for 720p picture than for 1080p picture. If I change subtitle change with Subler or iSubtitle, has no effect on playback via Apple TV.

Dave84
Oct 16, 2013, 02:16 PM
I Just noticed that the movies who are NOT playable are those who are 1080P!!

For example the movie below is 720P and plays without problem.

426485

Cannot play it

426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!

Hi DJTaurus,

Did the Subler "optimise" work for you? I too am in the same boat, all SD and 720P movies stream perfectly from itunes on my mac to ATV3. It is only when I try and play 1080p rips (and then only some of them) that they just will not stream.

Not sure if file size has something to do with it as the 1080p rips that do stream fine are relatively small files (5-10 GB). The ones that don't work are larger size rips like Aliens (24 GB) and Hurt Locker (19GB).

All the 1080p rips where done in Handbrake ATV3 preset, and all 720P rips done using the ATV2 preset. "Web Optimise" in Handbrake was checked on all rips :S

priitv8
Oct 16, 2013, 03:05 PM
Not sure if file size has something to do with it as the 1080p rips that do stream fine are relatively small files (5-10 GB). The ones that don't work are larger size rips like Aliens (24 GB) and Hurt Locker (19GB).

All the 1080p rips where done in Handbrake ATV3 preset, and all 720P rips done using the ATV2 preset. "Web Optimise" in Handbrake was checked on all rips :SI'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.

priitv8
Oct 16, 2013, 03:14 PM
Cannot play it

426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!I just wonder, why are your audio tracks so different from mine? What version of Subler and iTunes are those pics taken from?
I get proper Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 displayed in iTunes 11. As you can see, conversion was done with HB 0.9.9

Dave84
Oct 16, 2013, 03:15 PM
I'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.

I'm sure the final file sizes after handbrake are correct. Aliens and Hurt Locker are very grainy films so I would expect sizes this large. I will redo Aliens (from the original MakeMKV rip) through Handbrake using both the ATV2 & 3 presets to double check the 1st attempt is not a dodgy transcode.

If that fails, I don't have a clue.

mic j
Oct 16, 2013, 03:45 PM
I'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.
My Hurt Locker is 22GB, using HB aTV3 preset.

Dave84
Oct 16, 2013, 04:32 PM
My Hurt Locker is 22GB, using HB aTV3 preset.

Thanks for checking mic j, mine comes in at 19.84GB. Do you have any issues streaming to the ATV3?

I can only assume some sort of network problem but why do some work and others don't?

mic j
Oct 16, 2013, 05:09 PM
Thanks for checking mic j, mine comes in at 19.84GB. Do you have any issues streaming to the ATV3?

I can only assume some sort of network problem but why do some work and others don't?
No problem...sorry. :(

I assume you have tried Optimizing and it didn't work for you, right?

Dave84
Oct 16, 2013, 05:49 PM
No problem...sorry. :(

I assume you have tried Optimizing and it didn't work for you, right?

Yup, original run through HB was ATV3 preset with "web optimised" ticked. When you attempt to play the film through AT3 I get the spinning wheel as normal for 5 seconds or so, then the film starts to buffer (progress bar at the bottom). Then.... nothing.

Tried running through the Subler "optimise" option and get the same result.

Whats strange is that its only on the large 1080P rips. SD, 720P ATV2 rips, and smaller ATV3 rips all work perfectly.

I'll re-rip the Blu-Ray in MakeMKV and try again and report back tomorrow.

Thanks for the help.

mic j
Oct 16, 2013, 06:15 PM
Yup, original run through HB was ATV3 preset with "web optimised" ticked. When you attempt to play the film through AT3 I get the spinning wheel as normal for 5 seconds or so, then the film starts to buffer (progress bar at the bottom). Then.... nothing.

Tried running through the Subler "optimise" option and get the same result.

Whats strange is that its only on the large 1080P rips. SD, 720P ATV2 rips, and smaller ATV3 rips all work perfectly.

I'll re-rip the Blu-Ray in MakeMKV and try again and report back tomorrow.

Thanks for the help.
Subler and HB both have the same optimizing function, so there is no difference. If you miss doing it in HB (I have it set as part of my aTV3 preset) you can always do it with Subler. But they both do the same thing.

I think I remember you posting about this in another thread that sort of came to a dead end, right? I think it's worth a re-rip as it sounds like something is funky with the files. Could you do a media inspector analysis and post it? It might help...or might not. But sometimes it provides a clue.

priitv8
Oct 17, 2013, 12:35 AM
I'm sure the final file sizes after handbrake are correct.No, the file size is irrelevant (sort-of), the bitrate matters. Obviously they are interlinked.
PS for a new HandBrake run, try with constant quality setting and slider set to around 22.0 (+/- 0.5) to see if that helps.
PPS I don't think you need to re-rip it again, if you can get this MKV through HB, it should be OK.

DJTaurus
Oct 17, 2013, 12:38 AM
Hi DJTaurus,

Did the Subler "optimise" work for you? I too am in the same boat, all SD and 720P movies stream perfectly from itunes on my mac to ATV3. It is only when I try and play 1080p rips (and then only some of them) that they just will not stream.

Not sure if file size has something to do with it as the 1080p rips that do stream fine are relatively small files (5-10 GB). The ones that don't work are larger size rips like Aliens (24 GB) and Hurt Locker (19GB).

All the 1080p rips where done in Handbrake ATV3 preset, and all 720P rips done using the ATV2 preset. "Web Optimise" in Handbrake was checked on all rips :S

Yeap all rips 720p/1080p works fine with subler and using optimise in the end. I havent tried files over 10gb so i dont know. I hope subler had the option to also convert avis to mp4…. so for avi's i use handbrake which take ages to convert….. but the convention is well done… next time i ll also use web optimise as you mentioned… is that the same thing as doing optimise with subler?

I just wonder, why are your audio tracks so different from mine? What version of Subler and iTunes are those pics taken from?
I get proper Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 displayed in iTunes 11. As you can see, conversion was done with HB 0.9.9

Dont know mate. I only download movies from piratebay and kickass… and then i just use subler with default options and optimise in the end.

priitv8
Oct 17, 2013, 12:57 AM
Dont know mate. I only download movies from piratebay and kickass… and then i just use subler with default options and optimise in the end.Then I can only suggest to analyze them with Media Inspector (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/media-inspector/id419975242?mt=12) to see what codec tags are assigned to the tracks. They can be off in MKVs (Subler won't touch them, so they pass unchanged) but HB always sets them correct to iTunes' and :apple:TV's liking.
The Codec ID aka FourCC (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FourCC) is the thing we're looking at.
On my properly streaming file, they look as follows:
Video #1
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 3 frames
Codec ID : avc1

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : ac-3
PS there's even an app for changing FourCC-s in a file, but seems to be Windows only:
http://www.fourcc.org/identifier/

LevMac
Oct 17, 2013, 08:33 PM
No, the file size is irrelevant (sort-of), the bitrate matters. Obviously they are interlinked.
PS for a new HandBrake run, try with constant quality setting and slider set to around 22.0 (+/- 0.5) to see if that helps.
PPS I don't think you need to re-rip it again, if you can get this MKV through HB, it should be OK.

Don't you get better quality through HB by sliding the slider the other way to the right? i.e. wouldn't the quality be better if its say 16 as opposed to 20?

priitv8
Oct 17, 2013, 11:55 PM
Don't you get better quality through HB by sliding the slider the other way to the right? i.e. wouldn't the quality be better if its say 16 as opposed to 20?Exactly. But my idea was to lower the resulting bitrate to see if that helps.
The scale is logarithmic, so even small changes cause big effect on bitrate generated.
I use 22.5 for 1080p Blu-Ray rips that seems to yield about 5000kbps stream.
PS just for testing, you don't have to handbrake the entire movie! You can limit it to range of frames, time or chapters.

LevMac
Oct 18, 2013, 01:39 AM
Exactly. But my idea was to lower the resulting bitrate to see if that helps.
The scale is logarithmic, so even small changes cause big effect on bitrate generated.
I use 22.5 for 1080p Blu-Ray rips that seems to yield about 5000kbps stream.
PS just for testing, you don't have to handbrake the entire movie! You can limit it to range of frames, time or chapters.

Ahhh yes, I see what you mean :)

Yeah ive been using between 15-19 on mine, and like the original topic poster, mine does take a while to buffer up as well, so I think ill be using 22 or so :) which will still be good quality im assuming?

priitv8
Oct 18, 2013, 08:10 AM
...so I think ill be using 22 or so :) which will still be good quality im assuming?I can't complain, but your eyesight may be better than mine ;)