PDA

View Full Version : new MBA or MBP for light video editing

alexandermont
Aug 7, 2013, 12:07 AM
I have a 2011 MBA, fully upgraded. Works great. But recently, I started recording screencasts. Fan goes crazy, things slow down. I want to upgrade.

I was thinking of getting the 2013 MBA, fully upgraded. Will this be enough for my needs? I'd rather have an air than a pro, I love how portable and fast it is.

I'd be recording screencasts with Screenflow, and editing them. Or making screen recordings with Quicktime. I'd like my machine not to be super taxed while doing that.

mxidis88
Aug 7, 2013, 02:50 AM
I've had every iteration of the Air since the 2nd gen core 2 duo. I decided to upgrade to the 13" rMBP instead of the Ivy Bridge/Haswell Air. I got the base model(2.6GHz i5, 8GB, 125GB) from Apple for $1249 refurbished. I picked up the rMBP because of the awesome redesigned cooling system Apple put in it. It can move a lot more hot air away from the processors enabling the processors to work at higher speeds for longer periods of time. This means when I'm doing heavy tasks like video encoding it doesn't have to clock the processor down at all(the air clocks down the processor all the time during heavy tasks because it can't handle the heat).

Anyways for roughly the same price as what you would spend for the new Air you can get a refurbished rMBP 13" from Apple that will handle video editing/coding way better than any MBA as well as the best screen in the market. You get a faster processor and an HDMI out port. It does way about 0.5lbs more than the Air but it has a smaller footprint and you probably won't notice the difference after using it for a week. That's what I would do if I were you. Good luck!

vojta3476
Aug 7, 2013, 03:18 AM