PDA

View Full Version : Hi... my name is waa1futs... and I'm ashamed to say I used to be a windows RT user

waa1futs
Aug 8, 2013, 12:26 AM
Wow, you ever end up in a ****ed up situation that you don't know how you got there? That was me.

I guess it started because a friend of mine bought an Asus Vivo RT tablet + Keyboard dock from the microsoft store for $400 thinking it was a true Windows 8 machine. He tried to stick with it but after the return period ended he got tired of it and went back to his 6 year old laptop just to avoid Windows RT. I felt bad for my friend because he was never going to use it and it was just going to be a $400 + $50 tax loss. I told him if he likes I'll end up purchasing it from him for $300 flat so he doesn't lose too much. I figured "what the hell right? I'm a college student and windows RT has microsoft office included for free so how bad could it be?"

Oh how I was wrong. So very wrong...

Thank god the Haswell MBA Best Buy deal came. $899 for the newest generation MBA that only came out less than 2 months ago? Sign me up! :D

P.S. this thing is ****ing AMAZING! The only two laptops I've had before this was a slow as molasses Asus EEE netbook and the Asus Vivo RT. Compared to those two the MBA is night and day difference. Truly the best laptop I could ever hope for. Super fast, amazing battery life, beautiful design, great trackpad, nice screen, and vertical integration of both hardware/software from the same company.

I'm in love :o

mtneer
Aug 8, 2013, 01:12 AM
Give us some first hand experiences from using the RT!! What didn't work? What worked, if anything??

waa1futs
Aug 8, 2013, 01:50 AM
Give us some first hand experiences from using the RT!! What didn't work? What worked, if anything??

That's a good question. Lets see...

What I liked:
- I really liked the battery life. With both the Asus Vivo RT + the keyboard dock (which had a battery inside it as well) I was able to get around 16 hours of internet browsing at 50% brightness