PDA

View Full Version : How many years do you plan on keeping your Macbook Air?

waa1futs
Aug 8, 2013, 04:53 PM
I purchased mine (haswell base model) with the idea that even if the 12 hour battery life gets worn down over the years it will still have a good 6-8 hour battery life.

I don't upgrade my electronics too often so I plan on keeping mine for at least 5 years, if not 7 if I can.

How many years do you plan on keeping your macbook air for? (please include which year your model is)

ZBoater
Aug 8, 2013, 05:00 PM
3 years. I had a 2011, picked up a 2013. I'm getting the 2016 model. And that is up from a yearly upgrade cycle prior with PCs.

Mike in Kansas
Aug 8, 2013, 05:14 PM
I have a 2008 iMac that I've had for 5 years now, still going strong. I have a 2012 i7/8GB/256GB MBA that my wife uses (and I use on vacation); barring any major malfunction I'd like to get 5 years out of that. And I just purchased a 2013 i7/8GB/512GB MBA for my son heading off to college and would love for him to get through his entire undergrad career with that. Assuming that it continues to perform and doesn't hold him back (or can still run the most recent version of the OS) I see no reason to pick an arbitrary timeframe to upgrade.

Steve121178
Aug 8, 2013, 05:19 PM
I have a mid-2011 MBA. I'll keep it so long as it does what I want it to do and Apple continue to support it by offering me the latest OS.

racoop
Aug 8, 2013, 06:05 PM
Still on my 2010 MBA 11"; no complaints at all. Does everything I need it to just fine :)

Ronnoco
Aug 8, 2013, 06:28 PM
I upgrade about every two or three years and hand them down to my daughter who gets another couple of years out of them...she just LOVES when I get a new computer...LOL

Ahmahzahn
Aug 8, 2013, 06:37 PM
One year for me, re-sale value is too high to not try to turn it around every year. With my military discount and tax free purchase it usually costs me $200-$300 for my yearly upgrade.

maxosx
Aug 8, 2013, 06:44 PM