PDA

View Full Version : Will a 13' Macbook Air (2010) run Second Life?




kenzoe
Aug 10, 2013, 01:30 AM
I might buy a Macbook Air 2010 13'
Would I be able to play a game that has these requirements... ?:confused:

Mac OS X Minimum Requirements Recommended
Internet Connection*: Cable or DSL Cable or DSL
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.6 or better Mac OS X 10.6 or better
Computer Processor: 1.5 GHz Intel based Mac 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo or above
Computer Memory: 512 MB or more 3 GB or more
Screen Resolution: 1024x768 pixels 1024x768 pixels or higher
Graphics Card**:
ATI Radeon 9200 and above
OR NVIDIA GeForce 2, GeForce 4
ATI: 4850, 4870
OR NVIDIA: 9800

The following cards are NOT compatible with Second Life:

NVIDIA cards that report as a RIVA TNT or TNT2
ATI cards that report as RAGE, RAGE PRO, or RADEON 320M, 340M, 345M, or similar model numbers
Intel chipsets less than a 945 including Intel Extreme
Cards with the following branding: 3DFX, RIVA, TNT, SiS, S3, S3TC, Savage, Twister, Rage, Kyro, MILENNIA, MATROX



simsaladimbamba
Aug 10, 2013, 01:46 AM
Those are all very old graphic cards, thus the Intel HD Graphics 5000 will be able to handle second life.

To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, to get a knowledgable audience and help making the thread easier to find for people looking for the same information, just click on the http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/buttons/edit.gif button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_06_2011/MR_Edit_GoAdvanced_button.png button below your message.

kenzoe
Aug 10, 2013, 01:53 AM
Thanks haha, and the Nvidia 320 m is not on the list I'm so confused.. :eek::( I don't understand these types of things.

simsaladimbamba
Aug 10, 2013, 04:40 AM
Thanks haha, and the Nvidia 320 m is not on the list I'm so confused.. :eek::( I don't understand these types of things.
Sorry, did not entirely read the 2010 part, I only got up to 201 and read it as 2013.
Anyway, those required GPUs are older than the 320M, so it should run.


____________________________________________________________

Maybe have a look at Advanced Search (http://forums.macrumors.com/search.php) or MRoogle (http://mroogle.chaseh.net/) to find similar threads while you wait for more answers:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB1_MR_advSearch_small.png (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB2_MR_advSearch.png)
____________________________________________________________