PDA

View Full Version : I've got a 500 GB HD + A 250 GB Samsung 840 SSD




prajapat
Aug 14, 2013, 02:58 PM
Right now i have the SSD plugged in to the USB slot, as i am waiting for this to arrive:

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/for-Universal-Apple-Macbook-Pro-Optical-bay-2nd-HDD-Hard-Drive-Caddy-SATA-9-5mm-/300725955979?pt=US_Drive_Bay_Caddies&hash=item4604a9ed8b&_uhb=1

The samsung Migration assistance does not work on the Mac :confused:

What I want to do is use the SSD as the boot drive and keep all my applications and pictures on it (iPhoto and My Pictures (75 GB).

Everything else i would like to keep on the HDD.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks. :)



mr.thing
Aug 14, 2013, 11:44 PM
Well, it depends if current total information size on you HDD is less or equal to SSD capacity. Then you can do the same as I did back in Feb:

1. Plug the new SSD into the Mac Mini ( via USB or install it inside )
2. Download and install Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper
3. Clone your HDD to SSD
4. Boot from SSD
5. Go to your “Home” folder on SSD and delete those folders you do not need.
6. If you want, you can also create symbolic links in your “Home” folder on SDD to point to HDD (Documents, Movies, etc).

Ideally, I’d also suggest moving content from HDD to some third party storage temporary, format the HDD and restore only folders you need back on HDD.

prajapat
Aug 18, 2013, 11:56 AM
Well, it depends if current total information size on you HDD is less or equal to SSD capacity. Then you can do the same as I did back in Feb:

1. Plug the new SSD into the Mac Mini ( via USB or install it inside )
2. Download and install Carbon Copy Cloner or Super Duper
3. Clone your HDD to SSD
4. Boot from SSD
5. Go to your “Home” folder on SSD and delete those folders you do not need.
6. If you want, you can also create symbolic links in your “Home” folder on SDD to point to HDD (Documents, Movies, etc).

Ideally, I’d also suggest moving content from HDD to some third party storage temporary, format the HDD and restore only folders you need back on HDD.

Once the HDD is cloned, do I erase the HDD?

&

How do i move folders off the SSD onto the Empty HD?

Thanks

mr.thing
Aug 19, 2013, 04:06 PM
Once the HDD is cloned, do I erase the HDD?

&

How do i move folders off the SSD onto the Empty HD?

Thanks

1. Yes. Once it's cloned, you can erase the original HDD using Disk Utility.
2. To move folders, use Finder.