PDA

View Full Version : ATV3 and temporary disconnect




DianeK
Aug 15, 2013, 02:39 PM
Currently our ATV3 is ethernet connected to our Time Capsule that serves as our router. We want to temporarily connect our Blu-Ray player to the internet to download a Viera Connect app for our TV. So the easiest way without running a second cable is to disconnect the ethernet from the ATV and connect it to the Blu-Ray, do the download, then reconnect the cable to the ATV. My question is, will doing this send the ATV into apoplexy and I will have to go through its setup procedure all over again?
Thanks
Diane



MFL2012
Aug 15, 2013, 04:03 PM
Currently our ATV3 is ethernet connected to our Time Capsule that serves as our router. We want to temporarily connect our Blu-Ray player to the internet to download a Viera Connect app for our TV. So the easiest way without running a second cable is to disconnect the ethernet from the ATV and connect it to the Blu-Ray, do the download, then reconnect the cable to the ATV. My question is, will doing this send the ATV into apoplexy and I will have to go through its setup procedure all over again?
Thanks
Diane

You should be fine, but why not run the ATV wireless and not have to worry about situations like this?

DianeK
Aug 15, 2013, 05:05 PM
You should be fine, but why not run the ATV wireless and not have to worry about situations like this?
Thank you for replying. Our home theatre is in the basement, computers and Time Capsule are on the main floor, old house with lathe/plaster walls...need the ethernet for good streaming!
Diane