PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake (Foreign Audio Search)




jaysue
Aug 15, 2013, 06:18 PM
Ok, so i'm in the process of redoing some of my DVD collection using Hanbrake and using the ATV 3 preset. My question is on using the Foreign Audio Search setting, now i have the FAS selected with forced and burned in selected, do i have to also select the language i want, select them all, or none with just the FAS selected? I don't plan on converting foreign films that may need subs, but i read somewhere just to use this feature anyway. Any help would be great.



jaysue
Aug 23, 2013, 07:23 PM
?

mic j
Aug 24, 2013, 07:58 AM
Interesting question as I rip all my media using MakeMKV which is set to only pull English audio/subtitle tracks. I don't see anywhere to pick a specific language for the FAS. I guess I would assume that it searches for language tracks based on your native language preferences setting.

DVD's rip pretty fast, and if you pick a chapter that has forced subs and just try transcoding that chapter, it will be even faster. Why not give it a shot and see how it works?

Oh...and let me know the result as I am curious about this as well.

kirsch92
Aug 24, 2013, 03:48 PM
You don't need to select anything for FAS, the DVD itself is in control of that subtitle. FAS is looking for just what it says, portions of the movie that have foreign audio.

For example, say you're watching Game of Thrones in English. Most of the show you have no need of subtitles, until someone speaks Dothraki. FAS will burn in the English subtitle so you know what the heck they are saying.

Without FAS turned on, your rip won't have that translation, and you will miss something important, unless you also happen to speak Dothraki.:rolleyes:

Read up on how that works on the Handbrake website, because sometimes Handbrake can be fooled and you will end up with a burned in subtitle that doesn't really belong. Rare, but it''s happened twice to me, and a re-rip fixed it both times.

mic j
Aug 24, 2013, 04:18 PM
You don't need to select anything for FAS, the DVD itself is in control of that subtitle. FAS is looking for just what it says, portions of the movie that have foreign audio.

For example, say you're watching Game of Thrones in English. Most of the show you have no need of subtitles, until someone speaks Dothraki. FAS will burn in the English subtitle so you know what the heck they are saying.

Without FAS turned on, your rip won't have that translation, and you will miss something important, unless you also happen to speak Dothraki.:rolleyes:

Read up on how that works on the Handbrake website, because sometimes Handbrake can be fooled and you will end up with a burned in subtitle that doesn't really belong. Rare, but it''s happened twice to me, and a re-rip fixed it both times.
But what if you don't speak English and want the Dothraki dialog in your native (non-English) language?

jaysue
Aug 25, 2013, 05:58 PM
You don't need to select anything for FAS, the DVD itself is in control of that subtitle. FAS is looking for just what it says, portions of the movie that have foreign audio.

For example, say you're watching Game of Thrones in English. Most of the show you have no need of subtitles, until someone speaks Dothraki. FAS will burn in the English subtitle so you know what the heck they are saying.

Without FAS turned on, your rip won't have that translation, and you will miss something important, unless you also happen to speak Dothraki.:rolleyes:

Read up on how that works on the Handbrake website, because sometimes Handbrake can be fooled and you will end up with a burned in subtitle that doesn't really belong. Rare, but it''s happened twice to me, and a re-rip fixed it both times.


So if i turn on FAS i select forced and burned in do i need to add all the languages? or with it auto find them and burn the subs in?

mic j
Aug 25, 2013, 06:49 PM
So if i turn on FAS i select forced and burned in do i need to add all the languages? or with it auto find them and burn the subs in?
It will only burn one sub in. Think about it, how could you burn multiple subs in? It would be unreadable. The question I thought you were posing is: how do I burn-in the forced subtitle track of the language I am interested in? Are you looking for english?

jaysue
Aug 25, 2013, 09:09 PM
I'm just looking for the burned in english subs, lets say a movie like Die Hard where they speaking another language and the english subs pop in, then would i select FAS, forced, burned, then select the english tracks?

bikeanyok
Aug 26, 2013, 08:08 AM
I guess I would assume that it searches for language tracks based on your native language preferences setting.http://*******/34xd

mic j
Aug 26, 2013, 08:20 AM
I'm just looking for the burned in english subs, lets say a movie like Die Hard where they speaking another language and the english subs pop in, then would i select FAS, forced, burned, then select the english tracks?

No need to select the english tracks if you have english selected as your native language in preferences. Only select FAS, forced, burned.

jaysue
Aug 30, 2013, 04:34 PM
No need to select the english tracks if you have english selected as your native language in preferences. Only select FAS, forced, burned.

Thanks for the help.

adamant628
Oct 31, 2013, 07:06 PM
Is it possible to add this setting to a preset? I've tried saving as a preset, but it ignores the subtitle setting.

Pyromonkey83
Nov 1, 2013, 04:31 PM
3 points to be made here:

1 - FAS works ONLY with Engish when using a Region 1 (USA) disc. It is based by the DVD, not the preferences in your computer.

2 - FAS is a program that searches ALL subtitles for tracks that have specific markers on each subtitle track for Foreign Audio, These are only found in English Tracks for Region 1 DVD/Blu Ray.

3 - If you spoke, for example, Russian, and wanted subtitles for Dothraki Parts because you dont speak english, wouldnt you also need subtitles for everything else? Hence why there are no Foreign Audio trip markers for these. Just like when watching a Japanese/Chinese movie, you need English Subtitles the entire time, not just when they are speaking a language other than the primary film's language.

These points are all moot for discs purchased outside of the USA. If you have a Region 5 disc (Russia, India, etc.), for example, the primary audio track would more than likely be something other than English, and the Primary subtitle track would reflect this change, as would the FAS results.

----------

Is it possible to add this setting to a preset? I've tried saving as a preset, but it ignores the subtitle setting.

I believe that if you select forced and burned in with the preset it should copy that setting, but it is possible that it ignores the subtitle field completely. I generally do this manually anyway, so I am not positive either way.

dynaflash
Nov 1, 2013, 04:59 PM
Subtitle choices are ignored in HB for presets as they are considered too source specific.

You have to manually select them for each source.