PDA

View Full Version : so, I can't restore from a backup of iOS 7 on iOS 6, right?


Bacong
Aug 19, 2013, 08:00 PM
Say, if I went back to 6.1.4, I couldn't restore from the backup I made of 7, right? I mean it seems obvious that I couldn't.

Sky Blue
Aug 19, 2013, 08:02 PM
no, you can't.

batting1000
Aug 19, 2013, 08:02 PM
I think you can, but it's not recommended. Don't hold me to that though.

bjb.butler
Aug 19, 2013, 08:08 PM
I think you can,

nope

Ensaladin
Aug 19, 2013, 08:22 PM
I download a software that read every backup you have on iTunes and let you extract everything. From media to texts and everything.

adam044
Aug 19, 2013, 08:23 PM
Correct

Bacong
Aug 19, 2013, 08:31 PM
I download a software that read every backup you have on iTunes and let you extract everything. From media to texts and everything.

expound

nikicampos
Aug 19, 2013, 08:34 PM
Say, if I went back to 6.1.4, I couldn't restore from the backup I made of 7, right? I mean it seems obvious that I couldn't.

Yes you can in a way, to not lose your data while in iOS 7 and then run iOS 6.

1. While on iOS 7, download the latest version of iOS 6 for your iPhone.
2. Plug in your iPhone into iTunes and select it.
3. Click "Option" + "Check for Update"
4. Select the latest version of iOS 6 and install.

That's it, the phone won't lose any data and you'll be running iOS 6 again, you can make a back up just in case.

Bacong
Aug 19, 2013, 08:35 PM
Yes you can in a way, to not lose your data while in iOS 7 and then run iOS 6.

1. While on iOS 7, download the latest version of iOS 6 for your iPhone.
2. Plug in your iPhone into iTunes and select it.
3. Click "Option" + "Check for Update"
4. Select the latest version of iOS 6 and install.

That's it, the phone won't lose any data and you'll be running iOS 6 again, you can make a back up just in case.

I've done that and it's glitch city.

nikicampos
Aug 19, 2013, 08:42 PM
I've done that and it's glitch city.

Not entirely, make a backup running iOS 6, erase all content and settings, then, restore from the backup you just created.

Once is installed from the iOS 6 back up, reset all settings and it should work fine.

Bacong
Aug 19, 2013, 09:15 PM
Not entirely, make a backup running iOS 6, erase all content and settings, then, restore from the backup you just created.

Once is installed from the iOS 6 back up, reset all settings and it should work fine.

Could work..but last time I did that, any app that I updated while on iOS 7 did not work on 6.