Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GreenDice

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 5, 2005
Mac newbie here.

I am planning to order the standard config 12" iBook but worry about the hard drive size. If I keep all my music and pictures on my PowerMac, can I easily access them from my iBook via the wireless network? I have about 20GB of songs and 60GB of pictures.

BTW. What is the best way to keep them in sync if I do get a larger hard drive?

Thanks in advance.

p0intblank

macrumors 68030
Sep 20, 2005
New Jersey
Wow, 20 GB of music and 60 GB of pictures... excellent! And yes, accessing them wirelessly will be no problem at all, as long as you are using iTunes and iPhoto. If it isn't already, activate Bonjour and turn on Sharing in both apps.

Macabron

macrumors member
May 23, 2005
Durango, México.
I think it would be better to just get a bigger hard drive, the price difference is not big and it is always easier to have a copy with you at all time, that way in case of hd failure you have a quick back up of some of your files.

ibook30

macrumors 6502a
Jun 4, 2005
2,000 light years from home
Macabron said:
I think it would be better to just get a bigger hard drive, the price difference is not big and it is always easier to have a copy with you at all time, that way in case of hd failure you have a quick back up of some of your files.
If you got the cash - this is good advice. If you don't have the cash- this may still be good advice. It can be more expensive to upgrade later and with that much data already,,, just think what you're likely to have in a year from now. Good luck !

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
Greendice, Mac OS is notorious for taking up a good chunk of your HD. If you are eligible for educational pricing then the upgrade from a 40GB HD to a 60GB is only $45.

That's what I opted for with the iBook I'm typing on now.

crazydreaming

macrumors 6502a