PDA

View Full Version : lenght of apple tv renaming




TreRep
Aug 26, 2013, 05:00 AM
i have 3 apple tvs so i want to rename them to distinguish them....

how many charachters can i use in the new name? i want the name to be completly visibile on iphones in portrait mode (and not the name incomplete with dots....)

can someone try how many charachters con i use?

thank you



hallux
Aug 26, 2013, 11:07 AM
Why not try it and if you don't like the way it's displayed try another name? I haven't tried creating my own name for it (I only have one) so I don't know, can you only create your own name once and it's then locked from changing it?

TreRep
Aug 26, 2013, 12:06 PM
i have no iphone at the moment ;)

JohnLT13
Aug 26, 2013, 12:43 PM
I have 2 3rd Gen ATVs in my home. On my Mac it shows Apple TV (2) and Apple TV (3). anyone know how to change this as I can rename too living room and bed room?

paulrbeers
Aug 26, 2013, 01:48 PM
I have 2 3rd Gen ATVs in my home. On my Mac it shows Apple TV (2) and Apple TV (3). anyone know how to change this as I can rename too living room and bed room?


Settings -> General

JohnLT13
Aug 26, 2013, 02:14 PM
Settings -> General

Thanks, I have done that but it does not show changes on my mac.

paulrbeers
Aug 26, 2013, 02:24 PM
Thanks, I have done that but it does not show changes on my mac.

Did you restart itunes? As long as I changed it on my AppleTV it shows up correctly in my iTunes. I have 4 differently named AppleTV's and two Airport Expresses that all have different names with no issues.