PDA

View Full Version : New DualCore PMG5 Display problem...


bigandy
Nov 21, 2005, 11:02 AM
We've just had a new G5 delivered to my uni's TV station, using all the money we have, and not enough for a new monitor. i've temporarily donated my spare Dell 17" TFT monitor (VGA). plugging it in i was expecting to see the same resolutions available when it's plugged into my PBG4 15", but no. apparently on the G5 it'll only go to 1024x768, instead of 1280x1024.

this is a problem because of Final Cut and so on - it's not enough resolution!


any ideas? can i force it to probe the display, or force the resolution?


here's the spec of the G5 just in case:

GHz Dual-core PowerPC G5
1GB DDR533 NON ECC 2X512
160GB Serial ATA -7200rpm
16x SD DL(DVD-R/CD-RW)
NVIDIA GF 6600 256 SDRAM
Apple Keyboard & Mighty Mse-B
MAC OS X-INT
Country Kit-B

chaos86
Nov 21, 2005, 11:32 AM
this may or may not fix it, but I can't think of anything else

cmd+opt+P+R

this resets what the 'parameter ram', which is where the computer remembers whats connected to it so it can load faster, and if it's emptied, the machine goes and looks for what's attached all over again. this is a good first step for any problems hardware related.

bigandy
Nov 21, 2005, 11:54 AM
of course, i go try that three times and it does nothing. then you tell me to try it, i do it again, and it bloody works.

typical :rolleyes:



thanks!

chaos86
Nov 21, 2005, 11:57 AM
no problem

what can i say, i'm good like that.