PDA

View Full Version : Can't select line-out (Kontakt)




macstatic
Sep 4, 2013, 02:33 PM
I've just installed the free/trial version of Native instruments' Kontakt but am having problems routing the audio correctly.
I'm on a Mac Pro and want to use the Line-out, but for some reason I'm unable to select anything but "Built-in", so audio (for Kontakt) comes out of the Mac Pro speaker. I want it to come out of the Line-out output.
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6628/c04k.png
I've checked both the OSX "Audio/MIDI setup" utility as well as the "Sound" preference pane, but all seems OK there. I've tried Garageband as well as other audio applications and they all play through Line-out which is what I want. What am I doing wrong?



ChrisA
Sep 6, 2013, 09:18 AM
I've just installed the free/trial version of Native instruments' Kontakt but am having problems routing the audio correctly.
I'm on a Mac Pro and want to use the Line-out, but for some reason I'm unable to select anything but "Built-in", so audio (for Kontakt) comes out of the Mac Pro speaker. I want it to come out of the Line-out output.
Image (http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6628/c04k.png)
I've checked both the OSX "Audio/MIDI setup" utility as well as the "Sound" preference pane, but all seems OK there. I've tried Garageband as well as other audio applications and they all play through Line-out which is what I want. What am I doing wrong?

Fist off, isn't Kontakt a plug-in? You are going to be using it inside Garage Band or Logic. If GB works the way you want that should be all you need

I think the speakers and the line out are the same thing. When you place a plug in the jack the speakers turn off and the sound goes out the jack.

zapnyc
Oct 27, 2013, 08:13 AM
Kontakt is both a plug-in and a standalone.
Same issue on both for me.
This is probably the wrong site to even be asking this question.

macstatic
Nov 3, 2013, 12:13 PM
I solved it by rerouting the audio using Soundflower (http://cycling74.com/products/soundflower/).