PDA

View Full Version : CPU process over 100%




macmacr
Sep 7, 2013, 02:55 PM
I have a Macbook pro running OS 10.8.4 (Mountain Lion) and it displayed a process of over 100% as shown on the enclosed. This should of never occurred and is indicative of a hidden processas the operating system assigns the amount of process space to be used.
Does anyone have an idea as to how this could of occurred?



Intell
Sep 7, 2013, 03:00 PM
This happens very often and is no indication of anything besides normal computer operation. Mac OS X computes CPU usage correctly with each core or thread being 100%. Windows does things different where all cores total equal 100%. In your case, that process is using one core's complete amount of cycles and 0.9% of another cores.

cube
Sep 7, 2013, 03:05 PM
100% would be the equivalent of 1 full hyperthread actually, not 1 core.

Intell
Sep 7, 2013, 03:08 PM
100% would be the equivalent of 1 full hyperthread actually, not 1 core.

Hence why I said "each core or thread being 100%". Do note the conjunction "or".