Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

caioferrari

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 14, 2012
Hi,
I've been using Snow Leopard for many years with has been working very well for everything I want until... today.

I have a Core 2 Duo 2.66Ghz iMac with 4Gb RAM and Radeon 2600 PRO video.

Mainly, are two things that made me start to think about and upgrade:

1 - I use AirPlay a lot, but in Snow it works only with iTunes. But I wanna use all Apple Audio Plugins (AU Units - 31 band equalizer, parametric eq, low and highpass filters etc) which I really don't know why is not available with iTunes just only with a few 3rd party programs. But, all that 3rd party programs doesn't work with Airplay. I knew that in 10.8 any audio can be transferred with AirPlay which is nice for me.

2- I'm planning to by SimCity which needs 10.7.5 ou + to work.

The thing is, Snow is a great system that ever worked very well to me. I've installed it since it's release date and it never ever crashed and it made my system work faster that 10.5.
I don't know which OS choose for an upgrade. Since I don't have a newer Mac, speed is a real thing here. Does worth the upgrade for 10.8? Should I wait for 10.9?

What do you guys recommend for me?

Tyler23

macrumors 603
Dec 2, 2010
Atlanta, GA
Hi,
I've been using Snow Leopard for many years with has been working very well for everything I want until... today.

I have a Core 2 Duo 2.66Ghz iMac with 4Gb RAM and Radeon 2600 PRO video.

Mainly, are two things that made me start to think about and upgrade: