PDA

View Full Version : Is 2012 MacBook Air screen good enough for photographer?

hulk2012
Sep 12, 2013, 06:35 AM
I'm a photographer and have got 2012 MacBook Air i5 1.7 4gb with calibrated LG screen and thought of upgrade to 15" rMBP. Do you think the color accuracy is worth the upgrade?

The Man
Sep 12, 2013, 08:00 AM
I'm a photographer and have got 2012 MacBook Air i5 1.7 4gb with calibrated LG screen and thought of upgrade to 15" rMBP. Do you think the color accuracy is worth the upgrade?

Well, calibration goes only so far. I believe the retina display has close to sRGB gamut. And because it's IPS it has a very wide viewing angle. These two things make the retina MBP more suitable for a photographer. Although the Air is more portable. I would wait for Haswell to arrive in the rMBP because increased battery life makes it even better for a traveling photographer.

hulk2012
Sep 12, 2013, 08:06 AM
Well, calibration goes only so far. I believe the retina display has close to sRGB gamut. And because it's IPS it has a very wide viewing angle. These two things make the retina MBP more suitable for a photographer. Although the Air is more portable. I would wait for Haswell to arrive in the rMBP because increased battery life makes it even better for a traveling photographer.

Can't wait until mid 2014 for a Haswell. Gotta choose some now to begin..

BlockEight88
Sep 12, 2013, 08:19 AM
I'm kind of in the same boat you are in. I desperately need a laptop and of course when everyone does, Apple is toying with us and can't mention a word on the release date of the rMBPs or update them in fact.

The only thing the MBA has going for it is haswell. Form factor comes in second, I personally think its too light and doesn't feel very stable.

The screen looks entirely washed out compared to any other macbook. Go to best buy and take a look for yourself.

Doublea6
Sep 12, 2013, 06:36 PM