PDA

View Full Version : Distortion Harmful for Headphones?

djtech42
Sep 14, 2013, 12:43 AM
I have been playing Yeezus through my Beyerdynamics DT770 pro 80 headphones amplified through an Audioengine D1. This album has the most distortion I have ever heard in an album. It's not just clipping distortion though. Each component of the instrumental is distorted individually for the Chicago acid house sound. I have been creating an instrumental in Logic Pro X simulating the sound of the album, although I think I exaggerated the distortion effect (using overdriven bit crusher and distortion plugins).

Now I am worried that I could be damaging the headphones. The idea of so many overdriven sounds mixing together sounds dangerous. Each track is literally at a constant amplitude. I'm new to the whole headphone amplifier setup, so I'm confused about "amp clipping." How would you know if the amp is clipping? I know this is the most dangerous thing to the headphones, but I'm not sure of how to be careful of it. Is clipping distortion dangerous too? And would this type of music be especially dangerous because it has many more distorted sounds than your average song? (Most loudness war songs clip in general, but the tracks aren't necessarily individually distorted)

One thing that makes me doubt that it could damage the headphones is the fact that you can safely play a square wave, which is the most distorted signal possible, at normal volume. I have been listening to music afterwards and everything sounds OK. However, I am still paranoid that there is damage I am not identifying. :(

ChrisA
Sep 14, 2013, 10:50 AM