PDA

View Full Version : I can use WPA on my WPA2 network!




ThePiratkapten
Sep 14, 2013, 07:04 AM
Hi! Installed my new ASUS RT-AC66u today. I picked WPA2-enterprise only, but when I login I can use just WPA-enterprise! I tried with personal, and same thing there. I created a wireless network on my old airport express, just WPA2, and there I could also login with WPA only!
I can login with WPA2-enterprise too.

Is this something I should worry about?



drambuie
Sep 17, 2013, 03:17 PM
My cable modem is set up with WPA2 AES. I was surprised to find that it accepted a connection from my 8 year old laptop that only has WPA TKIP encryption. It looks like WPA2 will accept WPA encryption as long as the WPA connection has the proper WPA2 password, however, anyone trying to hack in would be confronted with with WPA2 security.

thekingofnerds
Sep 17, 2013, 04:50 PM
From what I understand WPA2 is backwards compatible with WPA. That could explain the weirdness you are experiencing.