Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SwissWatch

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 15, 2013
Chaps, I will be buying the MacBook Air 13" on pay day of this month. I plan on upgrading the RAM to 8GB and the SSD to 512GB. This will be a move from my unibody MacBook Pro with 256GB SSD.

I understand that Ethernet, FireWire and the SuperDrive will disappear. However the upgrade in SSD capacity and the inclusion of thunderbolt will hopefully make it worth while. (The Thunderbolt Display is also on my radar.) Also the upgrade in battery life is absolutely superb!

May I ask the people who own the latest 13" how they're finding it? Any downsides? Have any issues been reported with the screen or SSD? I'm an IT Consultant myself, but PC hardware has never interested me so I often ignore the latest news with regards to SSD reliability and speeds of Apple SSDs.

Thanks for the input. Cheers!

sheky

macrumors newbie
May 23, 2013
Hey SwissWatch!

I just got my 13" i7 8gb 512GB a few days back. Its been amazing so far! Very quick, very responsive. Its currently in a black iGlaze moshi case and a really thin sleeve for an extra protection since I travel quite a bit.

If it makes a difference to you, I have a Samsung SSD and Screen, geekbench score of 8301 and read write speed of 700+!

Been having a bit of a battery problem which I'm trying to diagnosed!

flowrider

macrumors 604
Nov 23, 2012
May I ask the people who own the latest 13" how they're finding it? Any downsides? Have any issues been reported with the screen or SSD? I'm an IT Consultant myself, but PC hardware has never interested me so I often ignore the latest news with regards to SSD reliability and speeds of Apple SSDs.

Thanks for the input. Cheers!