Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

logicpro7

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 25, 2006
London UK
Not sure which one would be better for her, ordering it tonight.

She will just be using it for coursework, music, browsing, research, so nothing intensive.

The basic 13" Air has recently been updated... New HD5000 and battery etc and is £50 cheaper than the basic outdated 13"mbp.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

Pharmscott

macrumors 6502a
Dec 13, 2011
Sacramento, CA
Sounds like she doesn't really need to extra CPU horsepower but everyone benefits from a SSD and the lighter form factor. An Air sounds perfect! I'll bet she'll be thrilled.

Y So Jelly

macrumors regular
Sep 14, 2013
I am a student, and bought the Pro 2 weeks ago. Returned it for an Air and am much happier. I would only recommend the Pro for someone who needs extremely accurate gamut, user-upgradable components, a colossal amount of storage, and runs a RAMDisk or multiple VM's.

Your daughter is not this person. Get the Air.

krazykleo

macrumors regular
Aug 17, 2013
Everywhere and nowhere
Get the Air. I myself am a university student and I have yet to feel any heat from my mid MBA. I am a heavy user as most of my class notes and quizzes and other assignments are online and I have my laptop open for hours on end.

I was a bit worried about nothing having the right laptop but I am sooo happy I went with the Air. Only thing I'd say is that get a bigger SSD. I got the 128GB and wish now I'd gotten the 256GB, at least.

My config: i5/8GB/128.

Hope this helps.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
Thanks guys, bought her the standard 13" Air. :)

Is it possible to use a 64gb sd card for extra storage?

Yes, she sure can. Just have her eject it and remove it before she puts the Air to bed for the night on battery power. Having an SD card in keeps the Air from going into its battery conserving deep sleep mode.