Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LukeW

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2005
Probably a bit of a stupid question :rolleyes: however I am a graphics student who is doing a project on In Design and have found that while I have my page set in RGB, they appear to be printing in CMYK. For example a strong purple on the page comes out as a very ugly pale pink. The image is printed at 40% just so I can get a rough idea of what it looks like. I have a HP Deskjet 1220C. The reason this is odd is that I have previously used the said same programme and printer, with the same colours and at the same %, on an old iBook I had before I moved up to a shiny new iMac, and I used to just print away happily without any colour issues. I also can print on Photoshop with said same colour and using RGB and it comes out perfectly, so I can only think there is a setting issue with In Design somewhere. Can anyone help? You would be saving my life! :eek:

Sparky's

macrumors 6502a
Feb 11, 2004
Have you checked whether you have color management on? if so turn it off. The internal engine in InDesign will usually try to print to a postscript CMYK device and this may be what is set as default

just my 2¢

LukeW

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2005
Sparky's said:
Have you checked whether you have color management on? if so turn it off. The internal engine in InDesign will usually try to print to a postscript CMYK device and this may be what is set as default

just my 2¢

Nope, the color management is off. Any other things I could try? I am at a loss :confused: The output says RGB, and the printer does RGB, just somewhere along the way it aint happening...

LukeW

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2005
Solved it

:rolleyes: Knew it was something stupid. Thank you for your help, it helped me out a lot!

L

Lau