PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing 1 GB RAM for PowerBook G4 17-inch

p0intblank
Nov 27, 2005, 12:30 AM
I am finally upgrading from 512 MB to 1 GB of memory in my PowerBook G4 (check sig for complete specs). I searched NewEgg and came across a couple I am interested in, but would really prefer the RAM to be made by Samsung. Since I already havev 512 MB of Samsung RAM in my system, I would like to have them match each other. I like things perfect like that. ;) Anyway, I came across this memory:

http://www.18004memory.com/focus.asp?sku=502411&session=xdealram&guid=A037BF452D4A486C8274B8BE7BFA031A

I found it through dealram.com. There was good Crucial memory I found on New Egg, but I couldn't find any user reviews concerning the 17" PowerBook. And plus a couple 15" users were having issues, so I just want to be on the safe side. Then I came across Kingston memory, but I've never used their RAM before. I only feel comfortable with using memory from a company I have dealt with before... in this case, Samsung. So what do you say? Is this good RAM for my system? Also, how reliable is the Web site I linked to? I never purchased anything from them before.

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Nevermind, it appears that New Egg does sell Samsung memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820208015

Thoughts before I purchase?

Edit again: Nevermind, I purchased it already. I couldn't wait any longer. :p Mods you can close this if you want...

CanadaRAM
Nov 27, 2005, 01:28 AM
The NewEgg RAM is not Samsung genuine RAM, it's a Transcend module made from Samsung chips (called Samsung-on-third in the industry because it's Samsung chips on a third party circuit board.) Transcend is a fine company, they make good product. But you didn't get Samsung genuine, Mac-compatibility-guaranteed RAM.

You can get Samsung genuine through 18004memory as you found at $159, or from Data Memory Systems (http://www.datamem.com/viewcat.asp_Q_C_E_1169) for $149