PDA

View Full Version : My iMac 1.8GHz has some serious issues...!

Maxiseller
Nov 27, 2005, 06:22 PM
Firstly, I'm not sure if my problem is hardware or software related, so feel free to move it if needs be.

I am in a bit of a quandry here as I was happily using Dreamweaver earlier today, when *bam* my mac froze. I've been using Macs for three years now, and Ive never, ever known it to just freeze entirely without a kernal panic message or somthing. It was even displaying windows-like characteristics of not redrawing the textures in menus etc for the few seconds I was trying to rush for the apple icon to force quit.

So, I did a hard restart by holding down the power key for three seconds, and the machine restarted. Only, it wouldnt.

What happened was that it stayed on the grey "loading screen" with the picture of the apple logo in the centre. Thats all i got. Figuring I hadn't really got a lot of options from here, I quickly did the firewire target mode to my ibook and copied the most relevant files, and tried to then do a restore/install with the "archive" option, but alas, It still doesn't work - at least properly;

I have managed to actually get into OSX a couple of times since then;

On the first occassion, it loaded everything excatly as I had left it (this is after the archive and install btw) except for the dock which had entirely different icons. It was painfully slow, and seized up after around one minute of use. On reboot, I got the grey screen again.

The second fluke time it managed to get into OSX I had "bluetooth options" screen present itself to me, and upon closing, I tried to run Onyx to do a repair of permissions, and also to delete some of my files like cookies etc - figuring this would help.

Upon restarting, I can not get into OSX at all - and Ive tried everything i can think of; including fsck, hard resets, archive and restore etc...so...help!!!