PDA

View Full Version : OS X server and Drobo FS




mjsanders5uk
Sep 19, 2013, 03:36 PM
Hi all.

I'm messing about with OS X 10.7 server on a 2Ghz Mac Mini at home and to date all is working fine. The mac is connected to the network via ethernet, as is the Drobo FS.

The Drobo shares mount quite happily on the Macmini desktop, but for some reason they don't appear in any of the server config panes e.g. storage, file sharing, time machine. I'd particulary like to use the Drobo as a destination for the TM backups for the network or even Home directories.

I've got the rest of the server stuff working fine - network logins are working as is file sharing.



talmy
Sep 23, 2013, 06:15 PM
That's because your Drobo is a NAS. It is a server in itself. You need to attach drives to the OS X server computer in order to have them controlled by OS X server.

alexrmc92
Sep 23, 2013, 07:46 PM
Hi all.

I'm messing about with OS X 10.7 server on a 2Ghz Mac Mini at home and to date all is working fine. The mac is connected to the network via ethernet, as is the Drobo FS.

The Drobo shares mount quite happily on the Macmini desktop, but for some reason they don't appear in any of the server config panes e.g. storage, file sharing, time machine. I'd particulary like to use the Drobo as a destination for the TM backups for the network or even Home directories.

I've got the rest of the server stuff working fine - network logins are working as is file sharing.

Only storage physically attached storage can be accessed how you want.

The only exception are time capsules and physical drives shared by other macs. These will only show up in time machine though.


If you need this functionality then you will need to pick up a used xserve raid or a promise fiber channel raid box. You can then share hat via Nfs on osx server.

mjsanders5uk
Sep 27, 2013, 03:40 AM
Thanks all - that makes sense.

Will have to find a different plan then!

satcomer
Sep 27, 2013, 06:39 AM
Did you search the Drobo site? According to the internal document from Drobo support it states Will Time Machine with my Drobo FS/Pro FS/B800fs? (http://support.drobo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/412/~/will-time-machine-work-with-my-drobo-fs%2Fpro-fs%2Fb800fs%3F).