PDA

View Full Version : update needs iTunes link ?




aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 02:40 PM
I'm updating appleTV and get this ???

http://i39.tinypic.com/dvszs1.jpg

Do I need to connect appleTV to a computer that is in a different room? What cable ?

I really don't understand this !

This image appears after pass 2 of 2 in the appleTV update available today



ohio.emt
Sep 20, 2013, 02:51 PM
Looks like you need to connect your atv to your computer using a micro USB cable.

Che Castro
Sep 20, 2013, 02:57 PM
Yes this happened to me too

I have a few micro usb cables laying around

So I had to connect the Apple TV to my computer using the micro usb cable and do a restore
You might also need to have the power cable also while doing this

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 03:03 PM
Still surprised apple expects me to have

1. Obtuse cable to recover
2. Proximity of computer

Appletv is a tv thing and the above are not what i have in living room.

Disgusted at this ridiculous choice of apple. Their updates should either work, or a less pathetic solution should be choosen for recovery . Like a reset button.

Che Castro
Sep 20, 2013, 03:09 PM
Still surprised apple expects me to have

1. Obtuse cable to recover
2. Proximity of computer

Appletv is a tv thing and the above are not what i have in living room.

Disgusted at this ridiculous choice of apple. Their updates should either work, or a less pathetic solution should be choosen for recovery . Like a reset button.


Maybe on the next Apple TV


For now get a micro usb cable


http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002I8MUJG?qid=1379707618&sr=8-1&vs=1

$3

Or just knock on your neighbors house I'm sure somebody has an android or kindle device you can borough there cable for 10 minutes

Viremia
Sep 20, 2013, 03:11 PM
Which version of the :apple:TV do you have? It may not be needed for all versions of the device.

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 03:21 PM
I got the cable from a friend, moved my imac out of the office

Did the update with no improvement

I even got my own ispw file and tried that nothing

Come-on apple, write ipdates that work, and don't expect people to have cables/computers

Che Castro
Sep 20, 2013, 03:38 PM
I got the cable from a friend, moved my imac out of the office

Did the update with no improvement

I even got my own ispw file and tried that nothing

Come-on apple, write ipdates that work, and don't expect people to have cables/computers

You need to also connect the apple TV power cord when u connect to the computer

And not all micro usb cables work , read the reviews before u buy , the first cable I tried did not work

I'm used to all this because I had a jailbroken Apple TV 2 a few years back
But for somebody who's never done this I can see why is a pain

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 03:50 PM
The update process goes well according to apple. So the cable seems to work.

Yes, the power cable is connected.

And yes this is a recovery process that even microsoft would master better

bozzykid
Sep 20, 2013, 03:57 PM
This happens with every Apple TV release with a lot of customers. I don't know why Apple still hasn't gotten around to fixing it. It shouldn't fail as often as it seems to do but it does. Sure, it isn't that complicated to hook it up to iTunes but that should only be needed in rare cases.

Che Castro
Sep 20, 2013, 04:00 PM
The update process goes well according to apple. So the cable seems to work.

Yes, the power cable is connected.

And yes this is a recovery process that even microsoft would master better

So what exactly is the problem your having ?
The update is not working after you connect to your computer ?

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 04:03 PM
I like the word rare

And please define difficult for an old person when it involves moving a computer and plugging minute cables into sockets.

Again appletv is a tv thing not an xbox or other tech gadget.

Here apple is just a big zero in both choice of options and their implementation. Wonder what steveJ would say if this happened to him.

bozzykid
Sep 20, 2013, 04:07 PM
Here apple is just a big zero in both choice of options and their implementation. Wonder what steveJ would say if this happened to him.

What? This happens every release even when Jobs was alive. The Apple TV is well known for having high failure rates for updates. I never said it should be happening but it does.

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 04:11 PM
Relax, i was just wondering what he would say if his appletv failed and was faced with this dismal recovery process

Cell-666
Sep 20, 2013, 04:23 PM
I've just had the same problem with my first ATV I've updated, never had this before in the few years I've had my four units. The one that has cocked up is the 1080 version. Just updated one of my other three 720 ones see if it does the same.

Bit of a neck ache sorting this crap out. As someone said, it's fine and dandy if your a tech head to sort it out, but if your using a unit as a standalone device, such as my 74 year old mother who doesn't have a desktop they are totally screwed.

Anyone mention post PC?

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 04:30 PM
I share your thoughts

Eckscaliber
Sep 20, 2013, 04:38 PM
I got excited when I found this phone charger. I then went to plug it in my computer and noticed it had 2 prongs on the end. Fail. Now my Apple TV shall sit for a while.

Cell-666
Sep 20, 2013, 04:43 PM
So, how can a ATV user fix this problem if they don't have a desktop running iTunes. Seems Apple have cocked up big time?

Bigwaff
Sep 20, 2013, 07:40 PM
You could go to the Apple Store. Let them restore your ATV.

Soulweaponry
Sep 20, 2013, 08:33 PM
Still surprised apple expects me to have

1. Obtuse cable to recover
2. Proximity of computer

Appletv is a tv thing and the above are not what i have in living room.

Disgusted at this ridiculous choice of apple. Their updates should either work, or a less pathetic solution should be choosen for recovery . Like a reset button.

Dealing with the same **** right now. Found an old microusb cable that went to my harmony remote and hooked that baby up. Now appletv is hooked up to my computer but still. What if I didn't have a micro USB cable? Am I expected to just go out and buy one just so I can update my damn appletv? How can they really expect that and not include a USB cable in the box? What if I didn't have a laptop at all? What if it was broken or I was an iPad only person?

I...just don't understand it. Isn't appletv meant to be a standalone product? Like I buy it for my living room and it just does it's own thing? I mean ****. It's hooked up to the entire net for christsake.

It's weird because it looked like I download the update on the Apple TV and it went through the whole "preparing update" thing before just going to that "hook up to iTunes" screen. Oh well...here's to hoping it all updates ok

Che Castro
Sep 20, 2013, 09:10 PM
Dealing with the same **** right now. Found an old microusb cable that went to my harmony remote and hooked that baby up. Now appletv is hooked up to my computer but still. What if I didn't have a micro USB cable? Am I expected to just go out and buy one just so I can update my damn appletv? How can they really expect that and not include a USB cable in the box? What if I didn't have a laptop at all? What if it was broken or I was an iPad only person?

I...just don't understand it. Isn't appletv meant to be a standalone product? Like I buy it for my living room and it just does it's own thing? I mean ****. It's hooked up to the entire net for christsake.

It's weird because it looked like I download the update on the Apple TV and it went through the whole "preparing update" thing before just going to that "hook up to iTunes" screen. Oh well...here's to hoping it all updates ok
Did you also connect the power cord of the Apple TV while connect to the computer ?
You have to do that



I think there should be a sticky in this section explaining how to restore Apple TV using iTunes

aicul
Sep 20, 2013, 11:34 PM
My problem now is that even after having the cable, the relocated office mac in the living room, and the powered up appletv and tried the recovery.... It stays un recovery mode.

So this does not work !!!

sirgromit
Sep 21, 2013, 12:16 AM
This has just happened to THREE of my 3rd Gen AppleTVs but not my one AppleTV 2. Incredibly frustrating to have to restore and then completely re-setup all of these systems. Not the first or even the second time an AppleTV update has caused a problem like this for me.

itouch rulz
Sep 21, 2013, 12:53 AM
I had this problem as well. One tip is to make sure you update to the latest version of itunes on the computer before you do the restore otherwise the Apple TV update won't verify.

If you are after a micro usb to usb cord look in the box/cables that came with your digital camera, kids electronic toys, sat nav, old sony minidisc player, obsolete blackberry, webcam etc. I think I have 10 of them...

aicul
Sep 21, 2013, 01:08 AM
Left my appletv in unrecevered mode. This morning it was recovered! Makes me believe the prob was related to activation... And yesterday new iphones went on sale.

If correct this is dismal of apple to not be able to support the activation loads.


About the cables, the approach. Its not if this can be found from neighbours, shops, etc. its that it is just ridiculous. Would you accrpt that from your coffe machine?

And legally, it should be noted on the box. As a customer i am entitled to information BEFORE purchase

Cell-666
Sep 21, 2013, 01:40 AM
It seems to be a problem with specifically the version 3, my other v2's all updated fine.

Still got a bricked v3 so will have to go digging for a lead in the loft :(

On another note, Apple forum staff deleted a post I made asking how can someone who doesn't have a desktop fix this issue. Email this morning saying the post was removed for unconstructive subject matter? What, asking a question is unconstructive.

aicul
Sep 21, 2013, 01:44 AM
Suppose its an admission that the cable/pc solution is incoherent

Guess no one at apple really knows about this, except the silly engineer that designed it

Very dissappointing

borostef
Sep 21, 2013, 01:52 PM
This is ridiculous... My ATV is stuck too... Was it so hard to say before you start the update that we are going to need a micro USB cable...

bozzykid
Sep 21, 2013, 01:58 PM
This is ridiculous... My ATV is stuck too... Was it so hard to say before you start the update that we are going to need a micro USB cable...

It isn't suppose to require a full restore but many fail every update. Apple just does nothing about it. Luckily mine updated fine.

Alrescha
Sep 21, 2013, 02:01 PM
It isn't suppose to require a full restore but many fail every update. Apple just does nothing about it. Luckily mine updated fine.

On the contrary, Apple provided a mechanism for people with borked Apple TVs to fix it themselves instead of sending back to the factory. I think it's a feature.

(my Apple TV 3 upgraded fine)

A.

Miamifan1354
Sep 21, 2013, 02:18 PM
Having issues as well..

Tried to update thing morning and got the screen saying connect to iTunes. I have a micro usb cable, so no problems there. Plug the Apple TV 2 into the computer, start up iTunes, but no dice. iTunes won't find the apple TV. Tried multiple times. The light on the AppleTv blinks while connected to computer, but doesn't show up anywhere.

Brought it to the Apple Store, and they couldn't get it to do anything either. Same symptoms. Said it's out of warranty, so there's really nothing they can do. So to sum up, I tried to update, and now I have a bricked AppleTv.

borostef
Sep 21, 2013, 02:20 PM
And BTW, don't you think that it is funny that apple insists on connecting all of the i-devices with your computer with any type of connector except micro USB, but decides to put one on the ATV? Well, sorry apple, I invested a lot in your devices, have more then six original cables to connect them to my Macs, and because I love and use your products... I haven't got a micro USB cable to use when ATV update fails! :mad:

I'm off... Going to wake my neighbours to see if I can borrow one...:(

aicul
Sep 21, 2013, 03:45 PM
I'm still baffled by the absurdity if this.

Honestly it took me a few minutes to understand the sppletv was in recovery mode. Initially i thought the image on the screen was some type of new feature being promoted.

Goes to prove how ridiculus this us. Apple cannot even indicate the upgrade fail, they prefer to ask you to connect to itunes.

Shame !!!

xxbrankxx
Sep 21, 2013, 03:57 PM
My ATV2 also got the "connect to iTunes" picture after I tried running the update yesterday. I thought maybe it had something to do with a jailbreak that I tried months ago that wasn't fully installed. I also thought maybe it had something to do with me running an old version of iTunes 10.7 that I refuse to update because I'm not giving up my CoverFlow.

I was however able to do a factory reset with the micro USB cable (that I originally bought for the purpose of jailbreaking and installing XBMC). I disconnected the power cable & HDMI from the ATV2 then plugged just the micro USB cable to my iMac and loaded up iTunes and did a restore and it restored back to factory settings. I'm gonna have to tell my dad not to update his ATV3 until this ordeal is remedied.

bozzykid
Sep 21, 2013, 05:27 PM
On the contrary, Apple provided a mechanism for people with borked Apple TVs to fix it themselves instead of sending back to the factory. I think it's a feature.


Of course it is a nice feature. But updates should not be failing this often.

aicul
Sep 22, 2013, 01:10 AM
Is the nice feature "the recovery", or is it the "way in which it was implemented".

The latter is not a nice feature, the first is ... Mandatory.

borostef
Sep 22, 2013, 10:55 AM
I finally found a mikro USB cable and was able to restore my ATV 3... I hope that this will not happen again, but judging by some other posts this is not uncommon...

Che Castro
Sep 22, 2013, 11:56 AM
I finally found a mikro USB cable and was able to restore my ATV 3... I hope that this will not happen again, but judging by some other posts this is not uncommon...

This is the first time for me since the Apple TV 3 came out over a year

Orchidkid
Sep 22, 2013, 12:11 PM
Having issues as well..

Tried to update thing morning and got the screen saying connect to iTunes. I have a micro usb cable, so no problems there. Plug the Apple TV 2 into the computer, start up iTunes, but no dice. iTunes won't find the apple TV. Tried multiple times. The light on the AppleTv blinks while connected to computer, but doesn't show up anywhere.

Brought it to the Apple Store, and they couldn't get it to do anything either. Same symptoms. Said it's out of warranty, so there's really nothing they can do. So to sum up, I tried to update, and now I have a bricked AppleTv.

I had the exact same issue. After it bricked I used a micro usb i had lying around. The apple tv (second generation) flickered but nothing on iTunes on my mac. I even tried downloading iTunes on a windows laptop but it still didn't show up under devices.

I ended up going to Best Buy and bought a 20 dollar micro usb to see if another one might work. As soon as I plugged it into the mac it showed up under devices and restored. It even updated to the new software through iTunes.

It has been working fine ever since.

Bigwaff
Sep 22, 2013, 05:27 PM
After initial attempt to restore borked updated ATV2 (-1611 error), I switched to different micro-USB cable and the restore went fine. Agree that the update should not bork the device but the documentation (with package and online) clearly states the need for the micro-USB cable and iTunes to perform a restore.

aicul
Sep 23, 2013, 12:39 AM
Seems apple pulled their v6 update.

Wonder if they will refund all the micro-usb cables people were forced to buy..

Cell-666
Sep 23, 2013, 04:20 AM
Seems apple pulled their v6 update.

Wonder if they will refund all the micro-usb cables people were forced to buy..

Or the people they refused to repair their bricked ATV, now they have pulled the update surely it will justify them sorting these broken units in store ?

grockk
Sep 23, 2013, 08:04 PM
... moved my imac out of the office ...


Why wouldn't you just move the appletv to your office and plug it in. Seems pretty convoluted moving a whole iMac...

bozzykid
Sep 23, 2013, 08:14 PM
Why wouldn't you just move the appletv to your office and plug it in. Seems pretty convoluted moving a whole iMac...

Plus, it doesn't even require you to plug in the power (powered over usb). So it is a pretty easy process if you already have iTunes setup.

aicul
Sep 23, 2013, 10:34 PM
Why wouldn't you just move the appletv to your office and plug it in. Seems pretty convoluted moving a whole iMac...

Plus, it doesn't even require you to plug in the power (powered over usb). So it is a pretty easy process if you already have iTunes setup.

Good points, but nothing of this kind was indicated by apple on their recovery screen. So should we add miss-information to the list if absurdities?

Frankly a few lines of text, rather than that ridiculous picture would be useful

----------

And for the record, the recovery seems to be more successful with power(just a cable).

Not to mention that I had to find a v5 ispw file since v6 we now know is so bad that apple has removed it. This required more than standard knowledge of itunes