PDA

View Full Version : Did Apple Pull 6.0 Update?




TBONE72
Sep 21, 2013, 06:46 PM
I have a 720p Apple TV and when I go to update it, it says the it is up to date at the 5.3 version. Did Apple pull the update because of all the problems?



lp60068
Sep 21, 2013, 07:44 PM
I was wondering the same thing. I have a ATV 3 and my system says I am up do date with the 5.3 version.

Itunes radio on my other devices is working nicely and I wanted to see how it sounds on my stereo system.

Luckey Boots
Sep 21, 2013, 07:47 PM
I'm getting the same here.

3rd Gen ATV & when I go to Update in system settings, says that 5.3 is the latest version.

Went straight too it after seeing the forum post of 6.0 being released.

Have other people been able to successfully download 6.0 in the last day or so?

I'm in Australia if that changes anything. Maybe they've pulled back on international release?

Mr. Zarniwoop
Sep 21, 2013, 07:51 PM
Have other people been able to successfully download 6.0 in the last day or so?
I upgraded an Apple TV 3rd generation about 6-8 hours ago without issues.

Luckey Boots
Sep 21, 2013, 07:56 PM
I upgraded an Apple TV 3rd generation about 6-8 hours ago without issues.

So that would suggest that they have indeed pulled the update?

Strange, never seen this happen before. Maybe iOS 7 (and now 7.0.1 - that was fast patch huh?) have really strained their servers & they can't deliver 6.0 reliably.

Could explain why a number of other forum users have reported their ATV's going into recovery mode after update.

Steve2357
Sep 21, 2013, 08:41 PM
I was wondering the same thing. I have a ATV 3 and my system says I am up do date with the 5.3 version.

Itunes radio on my other devices is working nicely and I wanted to see how it sounds on my stereo system.

I am experiencing the same thing

SiMBa37
Sep 21, 2013, 08:56 PM
I found the same thing. No update for me. Kind if glad considering how many posts there are about 6.0 bricking the device.

APhillyApple
Sep 21, 2013, 08:58 PM
If they did pull it, it must have been within the last 18-24 hours. I update yesterday around this time.

forza69
Sep 21, 2013, 09:28 PM
Glad I'm not the only one. Tried updating my ATV 3 too and it said it was up to date on 5.3. Strange. Hope it gets sorted soon.

KevinC867
Sep 21, 2013, 09:40 PM
I updated yesterday. Today I'm noticing that the video quality of my AirPlay streams from my Mac to my ATV2 is terrible. (It's OK from iTunes, but terrible on videos played from Safari or QuickTime Player.)

Maybe they decided the update wasn't ready for prime time.

megfilmworks
Sep 21, 2013, 09:41 PM
The update on my ATV3 created a need to restore after the install.
Now coming home after work,
ATV has crashed and needed to be rebooted.
I think this release has some issues.

bozzykid
Sep 21, 2013, 09:50 PM
Most likely the number of support requests due to the update bricking devices was so high they had no choice. However this is nothing new. Maybe they are going to finally do something about it this time. I don't think any of the issues with the software itself are bad enough to force then to pull it.

KiwiAdventure
Sep 21, 2013, 11:04 PM
My two ATV 3 updated 100% yesterday with no problems.

drmikey
Sep 22, 2013, 12:23 AM
I just went to update mine tonight and it's not showing up also.

raw911
Sep 22, 2013, 01:15 AM
I have a 720p Apple TV and when I go to update it, it says the it is up to date at the 5.3 version. Did Apple pull the update because of all the problems?

I have 3 ATV and only 1 updated so I clld apple n was told that they pulled update and to try again Sunday by Apples tech support

----------

Most likely the number of support requests due to the update bricking devices was so high they had no choice. However this is nothing new. Maybe they are going to finally do something about it this time. I don't think any of the issues with the software itself are bad enough to force then to pull it.


Yes it did brick one of my ATV but 1 did go thru. Tech support said they pulled it.
And another thing you need a micro USB to unbrick it. (Which apple don't supply) luckily I had one or I'd been SOL on 1 of mines.

Macman45
Sep 22, 2013, 01:15 AM
It's been pulled in the UK....I updated the lounge ATV3, and although it took forever, it went through okay, and the unit is operating as it should. Made a coffee and went in to do the bedroom unit but got the "Software Up To date" message....Reading the article on the front page it looks like some folks are winding up with bricks. -one Cupertino guy.:)

steve-p
Sep 22, 2013, 07:13 AM
There are always casualties with ATV updates, but this one seemed much worse than usual if anecdotal evidence here on MR is anything to go by. I'm just relieved mine updated OK.

creativet
Sep 22, 2013, 08:31 AM
I updated all three ATV's yesterday morning with zero issues at all. I will say that it was slow though. I live in Toronto ON, so there is no new itunes radio.

I'm a little disappointed that no changes were done with the UI. I was hoping for it in a big way. I was a little glossy eyed I guess with ios7 :)

JohnLT13
Sep 22, 2013, 09:46 AM
I updated all three ATV's yesterday morning with zero issues at all. I will say that it was slow though. I live in Toronto ON, so there is no new itunes radio.

I'm a little disappointed that no changes were done with the UI. I was hoping for it in a big way. I was a little glossy eyed I guess with ios7 :)

I updated 2 ATVs in my home. One updated with no problems, the other stalled and needed a reboot (unplugged it) to get going again but it did not update. iTunes radio is a huge disappointment. Sound quality is horrible. A new UI would have been nice but IMO thats just eye candy.

PaulMoore
Sep 22, 2013, 10:13 AM
Glad it's not just me- mine attempted downloading this morning- took forever and error messaged just before it finished, then when I went to Software Update in the settings it said I was running the most up to date version even though it was on 5.3 or whatever it was.

CrickettGrrrl
Sep 22, 2013, 10:21 AM
I updated an :apple:TV2 yesterday morning. It frustratingly stopped halfway through but then I checked all the iMacs and there was another iTunes update I had to download first which took a long while, after that the :apple:TV finished updating, slowly. US east coast if it matters. It was odd because I was reasonably sure that iTunes was updated already the day before. Oh well.

iTunes Radio is working as it should on everything, it's terrific.

NeroAZ
Sep 22, 2013, 10:46 AM
I updated my ATV 2 when it became available, and it went into recovery mode and I had to hook to iTunes to update. now my ATV 3 when checking says 5.3 is latest. I think I will connect it to iTunes and see what happens.

cyber16
Sep 22, 2013, 11:32 AM
The auto update may have been disabled.
But Apple is still serving them up via restore
The new update can be downloaded from the links given below, and is available for both the Apple TV 2G and 3G (old and new models both):
Apple TV 2G 6.0 (11A470e) (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0397.20130919.4ovPq/AppleTV2,1_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)
Apple TV 3G 6.0 (11A470e) [old model] (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0405.20130919.DgLvd/AppleTV3,1_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)
Apple TV 3G 6.0 (11A470e) [new model] (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0406.20130919.AZNiA/AppleTV3,2_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)

NeroAZ
Sep 22, 2013, 11:40 AM
I updated my ATV 2 when it became available, and it went into recovery mode and I had to hook to iTunes to update. now my ATV 3 when checking says 5.3 is latest. I think I will connect it to iTunes and see what happens.

when I connected my ATV 3 to iTunes it didn't recognize it at all, even though its the same cable (kindle cable) i used to update my ATV 2, however I decided to try plugging in the power cord and it showed up in iTunes right away. I didn't need to use power cord when updating the ATV 2.

It did update to 6.0

dayloon
Sep 22, 2013, 11:52 AM
On 5.3 here as well and update is reporting I'm on the latest version

OpTic Jayex
Sep 22, 2013, 12:19 PM
Happened to me as well. :mad::mad:

sundog925
Sep 22, 2013, 12:46 PM
I tried updating my ATV, but said 5.3 was current version.

So i tried a factory reset and it notified me a new version will be downloaded then restored so i thought, sweet!

Turns out the new version was 5.3 so im confused.

kokako
Sep 22, 2013, 02:02 PM
this reminds me of an AppleTV update that bricked mine and a lot of other peoples ATV1 back in 2010, because it was out of warranty Apple did nothing for us but without a doubt it was that update that bricked our bricks and ATV1 couldn't find the software to boot.

anyway I have an ATV3 the slight revision model that came out in January this year (A1469) no bricking running nicely and iTunes Radio rocks!

apolloa
Sep 22, 2013, 02:17 PM
Yes, they pulled it without telling anyone, I guess they don't want to face the embarrassment that it's bricking some devices and generally messing up Apple TV systems:

http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/22/apple-tv-6-0-quietly-pulled-following-bricked-updates/

I guess they used the same QC on it as iOS 7 :rolleyes:

pat park
Sep 22, 2013, 02:17 PM
Updated my ATV2 yesterday without any issues. But am now reading about bricking and restore issues. Seems to be more ATV 3 units than 2.

Smh.

institute
Sep 22, 2013, 02:45 PM
If your in Canada and want iTunes Radio just create an account in the US iTunes Store and then set that account up in the ATV. iTunes Radio will then appear. You can then switch back and forth between your accounts rather easily.

mrmarts
Sep 22, 2013, 09:56 PM
Can any micro usb cable (such as playstation 3 cable) be used to reset a Apple TV?

Shanghaichica
Sep 22, 2013, 11:40 PM
I updated my apple TV on Friday. It took a while but it updated and I haven't had any problems.

Macman45
Sep 23, 2013, 01:44 AM
On 5.3 here as well and update is reporting I'm on the latest version

Checked it again just now....Bedroom reports 5.3 as being up to date, but Living Room is updated to 6...They've pulled it for now according to the front page.

Luckey Boots
Sep 23, 2013, 06:24 AM
The Update has definitely been pulled in Australia since Sunday our time.

Have had quite a few friends have their own ATV's fail after update.

Definitely an indication that there are some serious flaws in this update. Glad I wasn't straight on the band wagon!

dumastudetto
Sep 23, 2013, 07:07 AM
I don't think 6.0 was supposed to be published it was a beta release for developers. So I don't blame Apple for these problems just human error. Definitely not a sign QA standards are slipping. So relax people.

cxc273
Sep 23, 2013, 07:36 AM
I was able to update 2 out of 3 of my ATVs late last week before Apple pulled the update. Unfortunately something went wrong with the third ATV and I had to do a restore through iTunes. I guess I should count myself lucky that the update didn't completely brick my device. After the restore, the ATV is running 6.0 just fine.

Irishman
Sep 23, 2013, 11:04 AM
Okay here. Running 6.o since availability day. My usage hasn't changed, so far, no bricking.

Bensalama21
Sep 23, 2013, 01:35 PM
I was wondering the same thing. I have a ATV 3 and my system says I am up do date with the 5.3 version.

Itunes radio on my other devices is working nicely and I wanted to see how it sounds on my stereo system.
You could always just airplay :cool:

bozzykid
Sep 23, 2013, 02:20 PM
I don't think 6.0 was supposed to be published it was a beta release for developers.

It was definitely meant to be published. The problem was the high rate of soft bricking which probably wasn't reported during the beta (since it doesn't see as much testing as other iOS devices).

dumastudetto
Sep 23, 2013, 03:29 PM
It was definitely meant to be published. The problem was the high rate of soft bricking which probably wasn't reported during the beta (since it doesn't see as much testing as other iOS devices).

It is tested extensively. Apple never rushes any update out. I'm still pretty sure it was released by accident.

bozzykid
Sep 23, 2013, 04:11 PM
It is tested extensively. Apple never rushes any update out. I'm still pretty sure it was released by accident.

You can't release an update by accident. Since they have been advertising iTunes Radio coming to Apple TV, this was very planned. You don't accidentally push an update. The beta updates are manual updates not OTA updates. This was meant to be pushed. What the betas don't test is OTA updates from the stable version. This is part of why it probably wasn't caught.

hakuryuu
Sep 23, 2013, 04:16 PM
I updated my ATV on friday and it failed. Once I did a restore via iTunes it was running 6.0 with no problems.

machpost
Sep 23, 2013, 04:23 PM
I had no trouble updating both my Apple TV 2 and 3, but iCloud services on 6.0 have been a mess over the last couple of days. It's taking forever to get music to play, and recent iCloud photos are taking a long time to show up on the Apple TV, or aren't showing up at all. AirPlay has been working intermittently for me, as well.

It's obvious that they're having some issues with their network that affect some users at the moment.

Candurin
Sep 23, 2013, 07:01 PM
I Updated my ATV3 to 6.0 (I guess a few hours after I saw that it was released on MR).

No issues to report (for now)...

bozzykid
Sep 23, 2013, 07:19 PM
There's a new build on iTunes but I have yet to see it on my Apple TV itself when checking. Anyone got it yet directly on the Apple TV?

Btw, they've now added a update automatically option. No thanks Apple. I prefer to not turn mine into a brick.

Edit: The update is now live.

tywebb13
Sep 23, 2013, 08:57 PM
The auto update may have been disabled.
But Apple is still serving them up via restore
The new update can be downloaded from the links given below, and is available for both the Apple TV 2G and 3G (old and new models both):
Apple TV 2G 6.0 (11A470e) (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0397.20130919.4ovPq/AppleTV2,1_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)
Apple TV 3G 6.0 (11A470e) [old model] (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0405.20130919.DgLvd/AppleTV3,1_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)
Apple TV 3G 6.0 (11A470e) [new model] (http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0406.20130919.AZNiA/AppleTV3,2_6.0_11A470e_Restore.ipsw)

Here are the new links for build 11A502:

atv2:

http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0449.20130923.xlzdm/AppleTV2,1_6.0_11A502_Restore.ipsw

atv3 (old):

http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0456.20130923.3Wtrk/AppleTV3,1_6.0_11A502_Restore.ipsw

atv3 (new, i.e., 2013 model):

http://appldnld.apple.com/AppleTV/031-0457.20130923.8n2FL/AppleTV3,2_6.0_11A502_Restore.ipsw

Macman45
Sep 24, 2013, 02:50 AM
It's been pulled in the UK....I updated the lounge ATV3, and although it took forever, it went through okay, and the unit is operating as it should. Made a coffee and went in to do the bedroom unit but got the "Software Up To date" message....Reading the article on the front page it looks like some folks are winding up with bricks. -one Cupertino guy.:)

Updated both this morning without issues...The living room unit which had been upgraded and seemed to be okay still required running the update across it again...Bedroom process was fast and simple over wifi.

PNutts
Sep 24, 2013, 09:38 AM
My kid chose update this morning. AT3 updated with no issues. Watching Muppets now. :) Gilda Radner. :(

Toltepeceno
Sep 24, 2013, 10:44 AM
I was running the beta and yesterday got the warning that it was no longer valid to connect to itunes and update. I did that and wound up with 5.3 with no over the air updates. I did this yesterday and checked several times, then after a movie about 8:30 pm I checked and got the update. No problems or glitches.

The subtitles are horribly small (I'm the only one that speaks english, the rest need subtitles) on the old version, was irritated I could not get the new version but it's fine now. Back to readable subtitles, especially so kids can read them.:)

Otago Lad
Sep 24, 2013, 03:32 PM
One of my aTV 3's that updated fine over the weekend ended up "soft-bricked" when I applied this update. Have done a restore and all good, however it does show that even the revised update isn't perfect.