PDA

View Full Version : If you find using iOS 7 nauseating or just feels a bit off... Read this

syd430
Sep 23, 2013, 09:25 AM
I've been using iOS 7 on my iPad since beta 1 and while it still has its issues I never found the experience even slightly nauseating. That is why I was a bit surprised that upon finally installing it on my iPhone for the first time last week, I felt a bit uncomfortable or slightly unease with it after several hours of use. I wouldn't say I felt sick, but I just felt a bit put off.

At first I thought that maybe it was the animations, as has been discussed in another thread, but it just didn't make sense to me because after all, I had been using essentially the same OS on my iPad for a couple of months without any issues. I understand that for many it is very much the animations that are making people feel a bit off, but for me it turns out that it wasn't the case at all

Then I tried a setting being discussed in another thread - bold text (General -> Accessibly -> bold text). I found that after several hours of use that the slightly nauseating feeling that I was experiencing was gone.

I thought that maybe it was just a coincidence, after all it's only text, and apart from that I have absolutely perfect vision and have no problem reading the tiny thin text under the icons. So I tried a little experiment where I would switch between the two at the end of each day. I found that on the days that I didn't have the bold text enabled, the off-putting feeling would come back, and on the days that it was enabled, it would just feel a lot more right.