PDA

View Full Version : Mbox 2 Questions

PhillStew
Dec 3, 2005, 09:00 PM
Hi all,
I am thinking of getting myself one of the new Digidesign Mbox 2's for myself this holiday season and I have a question for some of you more accomplished computer recordeing gurus.

First off, I am a drummer, and is there a way to get a mic pre amp and use S/PDIF (not really even sure what it is) and link them together to give me more than 2 xlr inputs directly into the Pro Tools software? I would hate to have to use my mixer and run the main outs into the Mbox 2.

And yes, I am kind of stuck on Pro Tools seeing as how I have a close friend with a Digi 002 Rack set up and it would be nice to be able to take my sessions to his studio.

Thanks in advance.

.:*Robot Boy*:.
Dec 3, 2005, 11:11 PM
The MBox 2 can record up to four channels simultaneously. Two of those channels are built-in, the other two can come from an external 2-channel preamp connected via S/PDIF.

FFTT
Dec 4, 2005, 01:25 AM
The only drawback to the MBox 2 is that it still uses USB 1.1 and not 2.0
which can have some latency issues. Your work is all about timing and this
may cause a few problems.

The benefit is that both you and your friend would be running ProTools 7 LE.

The other option is to buy an M-Audio Fire Wire interface and run ProTools
M-Powered. This would also allow you to track in Logic, Cubase, Live, DP as well
as ProTools.
It really depends on how many isolated tracks you want to record at the same time
and how versitile you want your system to be.

PhillStew
Dec 4, 2005, 02:54 AM
The only drawback to the MBox 2 is that it still uses USB 1.1 and not 2.0
which can have some latency issues. Your work is all about timing and this
may cause a few problems.

The benefit is that both you and your friend would be running ProTools 7 LE.

The other option is to buy an M-Audio Fire Wire interface and run ProTools
M-Powered. This would also allow you to track in Logic, Cubase, Live, DP as well
as ProTools.