Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bad03xtreme

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 16, 2009
Northern, VA
I am starting a new job next week so I have to turn in my Macbook Pro that I was given by my former employer. I have a G5 iMac at home but I need to update in order to sync my iPhone and do side work.

I am a graphic designer and I am looking to use the CS suite with the new setup, my budget is not much over $1k so I am looking at a new Mac Mini or an older dual core Mac Pro they are both around $500-$700. Which would be the better machine for running the CS6 suite and doing graphic design and photo editing work? :confused:

----------

I just saw the buying advice section so Mods feel free to move this.

blanka

macrumors 68000
Jul 30, 2012
You need to buy a screen too with the budget?
I would get the Mini. It has affordable RAM, RAM for the old Pro can cost a fortune, so you might be able to get the following:
Quad 2.3Ghz (much faster than the dual)
Buy yourself an SSD, 250Gb Samsung EVO or so, and a SATA cable for the lower bay (you can also do that later)
If you have money left, get 16GB RAM. You can always add 16 very easy later on, so I would take that step latest.
Best display for design use and wallet right now seems the Dell U2412M with IPS panel, good ergonomics, nice sRGB coverage, DVI and DP, and spacious 1920x1200. I still like 24 inch that resolution the best.

bad03xtreme

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 16, 2009
Northern, VA
Thanks yes, I need a display and that Dell was the one I was actually looking at. I see  has a refurb quad core mini for $679 at the moment. How hard is the SSD to install on the Mini's?

ioannis2005gr

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2013
Europe
You need to buy a screen too with the budget?
I would get the Mini. It has affordable RAM, RAM for the old Pro can cost a fortune, so you might be able to get the following: