PDA

View Full Version : M Box2 - Audio Output Low in Headphones




smurphy28
Dec 6, 2005, 09:43 AM
Hello:

I've used garageband a lot and decided to move up and purchased the Digidesign M Box 2 with Pro Tools LE. It's up and running fine on my G5 1.6Ghz (w/ one 80GB HD (Boot) and a 250GB HD; 2 gigs of Ram). I loaded the sample recording and the volume coming in to the headphones is very low. I have to turn the knob all the way up to hear the tracks. Why is this? How can I fix it?

Sorry for the stupid question... I just can't find anything on this.


Thanks!



FFTT
Dec 6, 2005, 10:55 AM
You may need to buy a heaphone preamp.

I must warn you about using headphones at higher volumes.

This is serious stuff.

I spent a year putting together a 15 song multi-track demo, spending countless hours listening though headphones to record, sequence, rough mix etc. After a while you get ear fatigue and wanting to hear every nuance you
turn up the volume.

Little did I know how dangerous this was.

Shortly after I completed my project, I noticed that my ears would not stop ringing.

I went to the audiologist and had my hearing tested.

I had permanent irreversable nerve damage.

A year later, I was clinically deaf in my right ear with more than
50% loss in the left ear.

Using headphones is necessary to track, but you need to keep it at a volume just enough to monitor what you're doing.

The rest should be done through powered near field monitors and those
should be kept at a reasonable volume.

Headphones are dangerous and the results of over exposure can lead to permanent hearing loss.
Be careful mate.

smurphy28
Dec 6, 2005, 11:34 AM
Thanks for the warning and I agree. I've had that happen before when working on a record for my band a while back. Now I'm in the driver seat and it is good to keep in mind...

Do you think that's what I need - a headphone preamp? Shouldn't the M Box2 have a preamp for headphones? I'm so confused with this thing... Maybe it is too advanced for someone coming off Garageband...

FFTT
Dec 6, 2005, 12:40 PM
Unless there's something wrong with the headphone output on your M-box it may just be that the signal isn't very loud.
Or your headphones need a stronger signal.

If they work fine on a regular headphone jack on other equiplment, then
maybe it is the M-box.

You might call Digidesign support and ask if your situation is normal.

I can barely hear a regular telephone that's plenty loud for most people, so I'm wondering if you may also want to check with an audiologist.

If you've been working with headphones for a while, I would take special care to monitor your hearing.

smurphy28
Dec 6, 2005, 12:46 PM
The audio is perfect when I record and I can hear it well in the headphones but on playback it is soft.

I don't know if that helps more... It has to be my settings I think. Why would it work well when recording and not on playback?

FFTT
Dec 6, 2005, 06:04 PM
I can only guess that maybe the playback output is meant to go to
near field monitors.

Otherwise there may be a volume setting somewhere in the program that I'm not familiar with.