PDA

View Full Version : WIN>LINUX>MAC What a ride :)

bbbrad
Jan 3, 2003, 03:10 AM
Hello all I am new to the forum.
I am a webmaster of several websites.
I have been doing the computer thing since the VIC 20
Loved my amiga 500 :)
I have been a tech geek since 7 years of age :)
I have had the honor of a G4 Titanium laptop falling into my lap yesterday :)
It came with an OS but no disks with it.. I got it from someone who had been ready to throw it out their window :)
I snatched it up for $200.00. I bought it mainly for LInux Aps but then I started checking out this OS 9.1 that is on it and it did not look that bad.

I personally think windows is more user friendly out the gate but I am not afraid to read and get down to the nitty gritty of an OS.

SO all rant and raving aside.... Which is it Linux or Mac OS.

Which would you guys recommend on it.

I have thought about doing the VMware thing and running another couple OSs on it for fun :) (Just for the Sole Purpose of checking my web design for Compatability)
But then again much to my suprise the computer shows potential of being an useful tool after I get Macromedia Studio MX on there.

So like I said I am looking for suggestions on what OS I should Run on it. The Only reason I have not jumped onto linux is because of the net horror stories I have read about MAC and UNIX incompatibilities.
On the otherhand there is a ~$130.00 Mac OS X fee I would have to pay to put a in my opinion ligite OS onto it :)

Keep in mind guys I am still a very firm believer in the (IBM Compat. PC world)
:) Well I hope I did not offend anybody with my question.
( I kinda feel like I am on the other side of the tracks here :) )

It would be even better if someone was so kind as to perhaps even offer some advice.

Have a great day everybody,
Brad :)

Nipsy
Jan 3, 2003, 03:31 AM