Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

C5Longhorn

macrumors regular
Jul 31, 2010
I'm new to Android as I just got my 7 last week. Will the update be a simple install and are you prompted to make a backup before the new OS is installed?

Lloydbm41

Suspended
Oct 17, 2013
Central California
I'm new to Android as I just got my 7 last week. Will the update be a simple install and are you prompted to make a backup before the new OS is installed?

You won't be prompted to make a backup before upgrading. There is no backup like in iOS built in to Android (yet). That said, all Google apps are auto-updated in real time, continuously. If you want your own back up of all your other apps, you have to download a 3rd party app like "Helium" to make your own backup. If you are rooted (which I can tell you are not) there is an app that does the same thing as iOS, called ROM Manager.

That said, click on Settings -> scroll down to "About Tablet" -> click on System updates. If the update gets pushed to you at that point, you will be prompted to update. This will force your tablet to look for an update OR you can just wait for it to show up and prompt you.

C5Longhorn

macrumors regular
Jul 31, 2010
You won't be prompted to make a backup before upgrading. There is no backup like in iOS built in to Android (yet). That said, all Google apps are auto-updated in real time, continuously. If you want your own back up of all your other apps, you have to download a 3rd party app like "Helium" to make your own backup. If you are rooted (which I can tell you are not) there is an app that does the same thing as iOS, called ROM Manager.

That said, click on Settings -> scroll down to "About Tablet" -> click on System updates. If the update gets pushed to you at that point, you will be prompted to update. This will force your tablet to look for an update OR you can just wait for it to show up and prompt you.