Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Natebenn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2013
Hey all, I have run into a problem that is really stumping me and I am hoping the community can help.

Machine:
Macbook 13" 2009 A1278

Problem:
I used the Apple Disk Utility at startup to take a look at the disc and see if any errors/issues came up. I have never used this tool before but wanted to see what it was all about. I ran the Verify Disc function and the machine reported that it needed to repair the disc but could not do so in it's current live mode and that it would have to be restarted to repaired. I can't remember all fine details of what happened but when attempting to reboot the machine for the repair the Disc Utility hung, sat there for a while so I simply shut it down since it hadn't actually started any of the repair process. Apparently that was the wrong thing to do because when I rebooted I got the flashing Question mark box and couldn't move any further.
I work on computers as a side business and troubleshoot PCs all the time so I wasn't too concerned about finding a solution. However I did some research and tried a number of things but the problem has only gotten worse. Initially I was able to use a boot disc to access the Disc Utility still but was unable to actually do anything with the internal hard drive with the software. I figured I would just re-install the OS and use my TM backup,easy enough. Well when I tried to re-install, the machine can no longer see the hard drive to install to.

Attempted Solutions (and outcomes):
-Reset NVRAM (no change)
-Reset SMC (no change)
-Remove battery (no change)
-Command +R (only brings up box with question mark)
-Burned copy of Lion in Drive and Hold C during startup (tries to read discs but ejects, box with question mark)
-Hold Option during startup (system seems to hang with point on the screen)