Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Craigy

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 14, 2003
New Zealand
Hi - I'm running Premiere CS6 on a 2013 cMBP and all going fine. The latest FCP 10.1 has me tempted as I've just ordered a new Mac Pro, but there's one important workflow I have in Premiere that I can't see a simple way to do in FCP. Wondered if anyone could let me know how they do it.

I do a lot of short documentary / interview stuff and I like to have good control of my audio without going out to post / logic / Protools.

An example project in premiere would have Audio track 1 as the main dialogue, Audio 2 as background / FX and Audio track 3 as music bed. I have the audio mixer set up with an EQ > Compressor > Limiter on track 1 and a similar set up on tracks 2 and 3 but with different settings. I have a limiter on the master output and an instance of Izoptope Insight for Loudness metering.

I can't see any audio mixer in FCP - or any way to replicate this workflow.

Am I missing something?

floh

macrumors 6502
Nov 28, 2011
Stuttgart, Germany
I can't see any audio mixer in FCP - or any way to replicate this workflow.

Am I missing something?

I don't think you are. The problem is that FCPX has completely gotten rid of track based editing, and I don't think they will ever turn back. This has some great advantages (I love the magnetic timeline), but comes with some disadvantages. The thing that irritates me most is - you managed to clearly put your finger on this - the sound mixing. This might be out of habit, because sound engineers are very used to thinking in tracks and buses, as they are present in mixing consoles. But there certainly is a reason why this is the preferred way to do sound mixing.

While I love the magnetic timeline for video editing, I am most irritated by it when it comes to sound.