Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattwolfmatt

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 7, 2008
I have a late 2012 MBA, with one Thunderbolt port. I'd like to connect two external monitors to it (neither of them are thunderbolt monitors, I'll use mini display port to DVI adapters).

Is this possible? I'm willing to buy a dock, it looks like either the Belkin or the CalDigit may do it.

Thanks all!

Last edited:

mattwolfmatt

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 7, 2008
Thanks but that doesn't answer my question. I saw that thread already. I don't want to use USB for this, I'd like to have both monitors through the thunderbolt.

mattwolfmatt

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 7, 2008
[/COLOR]
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219

Section 18

I don't want to sound like a jerk, but - again - this did not answer my question. The Apple article talks about connecting up to 2 Apple thunderbolt displays. I'd like to connect 2 non-Apple displays, using mini-display or DVI or HDMI or something like that.

I'm wondering if a Thunderbolt hub would work. Hoping that someone out there has this setup already.

DisplacedMic

macrumors 65816
May 1, 2009
[/COLOR]

I don't want to sound like a jerk, but - again - this did not answer my question. The Apple article talks about connecting up to 2 Apple thunderbolt displays. I'd like to connect 2 non-Apple displays, using mini-display or DVI or HDMI or something like that.

I'm wondering if a Thunderbolt hub would work. Hoping that someone out there has this setup already.

that's WHY people are using usb in the first place.... a thunderbolt hub like this one (which is i assume the one you are looking at already) costs around $300 and you'd still need adapters to run non-TB monitors.

using mini-dvi would kill the data-transfer capability of the thunderbolt so can i ask why you are so against USB?

Boyd01

Staff member
Feb 21, 2012
New Jersey Pine Barrens