Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

L4Leonard

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 15, 2011
So since my good old MacBook Pro has decided to crap out on me, I'm having a hard time deciding wether I should go with the 11 inch or the 13 inch MacBook Air. I'm a student, so the cheaper-->the better, but would you say that the 11" is too small? Or is a 11" display sufficient for my basic needs of browsing the web, writing essays and watching series?

Any kind of input regarding which I should/shouldn't go with would be to a great help.

TomBlack

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2014
When choosing the right mac, you've got to keep in mind that changing it in a matter of time will cost you more. So choose wisely the stuff what you need.

For me 11" is far more then I would've opted for. I have a 13" mbp and now I'm going for a 11". It's because I can always take it in my bag and carry all the time around not even noticing the weight. My laptop is my all day companion, but with the pro I'm a little over weighted, I mean it's not that heavy, but add some books, notebooks, lunch and my camera, so I feel a little exosted running with these.

This is why I choosed the 11" over 13" - which isn't as that heavy at all but it's still big enought to irritate me.

If you plan to use as your main computer In my opinion going for the 11" with a little better setup would be great. But that's my opinion. If it's a main computer and watching movies without connecting a external monitor is a concerne then look for a burgain 13" mba.

Goodluck!

Boyd01

Staff member
Feb 21, 2012
New Jersey Pine Barrens
I went from 2008 15" MBP -> 2011 13" MBA -> 2013 11" MBA and am really happy. It is my primary computer. I have a big monitor and external keyboard at home and it works great.