Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ouphe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 12, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
Hey!
I'm a college student dual-majoring in graphic design and illustration and I dabble in every kind of art and design I can.
I've just purchased some upgrades for my Dual 2.0 Ghz G5 PM (x800xt video card and 2 more gigs of RAM for a total of 3.5), and I'm looking toward my next upgrade: that is, my printer.
Right now, I've got one of those printer/scanner/copier deals that I purchased at Wal-Mart probably a year and a half to two years ago. It's hooked up to my PC (I guess Lexmark doesn't have great Mac compatibility with that particular model), and anytime I want to scan or printer anything, I have to go through the motions of emailing the document to myself (so I can access it from both computers).
What I want to know is this: how would I go about setting up a print server so I can wirelessly print from either one of my computers? What would I need to buy? Recommendations on where to get/what model to get?
Also: I print a lot of oversized photos and artwork (I work at a print shop, too, so I can do them there, but sometimes the shop isn't open, or I need it right as I'm heading out the door). Is there a good printer out there that can handle at least 11x17, hopefully 13x19 glossy paper? I'm a college student and not made of money, but I think it would be a good investment for me to make sometime soon.
Any advice/comments anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

-Colin

XIII

macrumors 68040
Aug 15, 2004
England
For the wireless print server idea, I would recommend getting a printer that is networkable. I have a Canon iP5200R, which is wireless g, and ethernet enabled. It was very easy to set it up, and now I can access it from my iBook wirelessly, and the Windows computer downstairs. All you need is for the computers to be networked already.