PDA

View Full Version : Will the current Adobe software work with Intel chips?




Ish
Jan 5, 2006, 06:13 AM
Does anyone know if the current mac version of Adobe CS2 will work on the macs with intel chips when they come out? Apologies if this question has been asked; couldn't find it. Thanks for the help.



Blue Velvet
Jan 5, 2006, 06:15 AM
If Rosetta does all it's claimed, then yes.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosetta_%28software%29

iMeowbot
Jan 5, 2006, 06:15 AM
PowerPC Photoshop was one of the applications used in the Rosetta demonstration at WWDC last year. Adobe programs are really, really important to Mac sales, so it's a safe bet that making sure that stuff runs is one of the top priorities.

bousozoku
Jan 5, 2006, 11:44 AM
PowerPC Photoshop was one of the applications used in the Rosetta demonstration at WWDC last year. Adobe programs are really, really important to Mac sales, so it's a safe bet that making sure that stuff runs is one of the top priorities.

As well, Apple knows that Adobe will take forever in making sure they work on Intel machines natively, so they had to make sure that Rosetta would do the job.

We'd more likely have to worry about games not running since that's not a priority to Apple.

Ish
Jan 6, 2006, 09:57 AM
Thanks for the replies. I'm looking to buy Adobe CS2 but my 9 month old powerbook has just had a temporary repair and I have to send it off for a new logic board. Can't spare it at the moment so don't want to come up against the possibility of it being replaced instead of repaired with a machine that won't run CS2.

cjack26
Jan 12, 2006, 01:47 PM
Has anyone read anything from Adobe or Apple that gives an estimate for when CS2 (or a new version) will be released native for the Intel Chips?
I'd rather wait to upgrade till it's native than buy it and run it through Rosetta.

Abulia
Jan 12, 2006, 03:27 PM
Has anyone read anything from Adobe or Apple that gives an estimate for when CS2 (or a new version) will be released native for the Intel Chips?
I'd rather wait to upgrade till it's native than buy it and run it through Rosetta.CS2 is already pretty new so I suspect there will be some kind of media exchange program -- as opposed to a new version -- that will supply the Intel binaries. Much like Apple's "crossgrade" program.

I've nothing to support this, however.

Boelman
Jan 12, 2006, 10:31 PM
Hopefully it will work because I have the creative suite and that wasn't cheap.

Abulia
Jan 13, 2006, 11:12 AM
I work in education (and happen to be finishing my MBA at the moment) but have you looked at education pricing? It's darn cheap. Plus, Adobe used to have a very generous EULA that would allow you to transfer educational licenses to business licenses without restriction. Not sure if their EULA still supports this, though.

bousozoku
Jan 13, 2006, 11:47 AM
Has anyone read anything from Adobe or Apple that gives an estimate for when CS2 (or a new version) will be released native for the Intel Chips?
I'd rather wait to upgrade till it's native than buy it and run it through Rosetta.

If history tells us a useful story, it'll be CS5 when they finally get the Universal Binary finished and the applications may not work all that well. :eek:

I'm hoping it isn't that way but I think that their run-down codebase doesn't like prodding. It seems to become slower with each release.