PDA

View Full Version : G4 logic board in a G3?




kingcrowing
Jan 8, 2006, 09:15 AM
I've got a Powermac G3 B&W, does anyone know if a motherboard from a G4 Sawtooth/Gig ethernt/Digital Audio will fit in here? also will the powersupply be compatiable? thanks!



SmurfBoxMasta
Jan 8, 2006, 09:49 AM
Fit yes,
All ports lined up....no
requires some creative dremeling

B&W, Yikes & ST mobos are very similar, but not identical, in the component layout, but not really enough to make a difference other than the port arrangement on the backplane

PSU is the same on B&W, Yikes and Sawtoothies
Bigger/different on DA, GE & up

Mord
Jan 8, 2006, 10:16 AM
only a pci graphics G4 mobo would fit, and they are identical to B&W mobo's, with some hacking sure it'd fit but it's not worth the effot, just get a G4 zif.