Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

trustyone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2014
Hello People,:D
Well I'm very new to all this, by which I mean I bought my first mac a few months ago - rmbp15 500GB SSD and my GP 3 Black a few months before that while traveling S.E.A & Australia.:rolleyes::D
I also used Canon point & shoot, samsung hand cam iPhone & iPad.
I have My Book 3TB(1TB&2TB partitions),2x500GB & 400GB Ex HDD's.

I am now undertaking the horrendous task of sorting through my footage so I can create a video of our trip.Now I must point out I am a complete newb.
Can anyone recommend a suitable workflow?

Just now I have separated photo & vids into folders (My book 1TB)
I have imported my photos to iPhoto (Library - My book 2TB)
I have converted all my videos via Gopro studio (800GB :eek:)
I am now importing them to iMovie (Library-My book 2TB)

Once videos are converted via GPS the date created changes, which means my videos will be jumbled in iMovie?Also under one event?
Whats the best way to organise this?
I feel I'm doing this wrong:mad:
Any help would be greatly appreciated!:D

Thankyou!!!:D

trustyone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2014
No One????

Come on guys really could do with some pointers we where all news at one time :D

hvfsl

macrumors 68000
Jul 9, 2001
London, UK
Well I personally use Final Cut X for doing stuff like this. I just copy all video from the SD cards/devices onto the Hard Disk and then add them to the library in FCPX (without any kind of conversion). I then decide on what kind of story I want to tell and go through the footage looking for clips that best tell that story.

Unami

macrumors 65816
Jul 27, 2010
Austria
second that. don't convert the footage, use the original files for cutting. sort your footage before you begin, use tags, keywords, folders, or take notes while sighting all clips.