Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Qaanol

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2010
How do I make it so when I am in one Space, I stay in that space until I manually choose to leave? In particular, how can I have the same folder or file open in more than one Space?

I’m new to using Spaces, never saw a need for it before, but today I thought, “Hey, I’ll create a second Space to run Xcode and program without the clutter of everything else I have open.”

So I pulled up Mission Control, created a second Space, and it came up nice and clean and empty. “Okay, let’s get to work” I thought. I hit ⌘⇧A to bring up the Applications folder—and immediately got thrown back to my first Space where the folder was already open. Not what I wanted.

I went to System Preferences and made sure the “When switching to an application…” box was not checked. There didn’t seem to be any other options that would control jumping between Spaces. I want to make it never jump between Spaces unless I manually choose to.

Jess13

Suspended
Nov 3, 2013
You Have To Open a New Finder Window First

In your new space:

Command-N or right-click Finder in the Dock; New Finder Window. Then Command-A for Applications.

Qaanol

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 21, 2010
I open all my folders in a new windows. I keep the sidebar and taskbar hidden. So when I hit ⌘⇧H to open my home folder, that worked because it was not open elsewhere. When I doubleclicked on Applications though, it would normally open a new window but instead it threw me back to a Space where that folder was already open.

I guess that’s just the way it functions? If so I’ll continue to not use Spaces, so no big loss. It could have been useful if the Spaces were actually, you know, separate, but the way it works right now is quite annoying and jarring to me, so I won’t use it.

Thanks anyway.

chinajon

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2006
China