Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PinkyMacGodess

Suspended
Original poster
Mar 7, 2007
Midwest America.
I've been a programmer for decades, but for languages like Dyl-280 and SAS. I'm trying to get back into programming and am working my way through the Big Nerd Ranch Objective-C book. I ran into a program that I can't seem to understand. I know it must be simple, on some level, but it's eluding me...

The code is as shown here:
Code:
unsigned long SumNumbersTo (unsigned long);
unsigned long sum;

int main (int argc, const char * argv[])
{
    unsigned long N = 10;
    unsigned long sum = SumNumbersTo (N);
    printf ("Numbers from 1 to %3lu sum to %3lu.\n", N, sum); // debug print

return 0;
}

unsigned long SumNumbersTo (unsigned long N)
{
    printf ("Pre if loop (N) (sum) %3lu, %3lu\n", N, sum); // debug print
    if (N == 0) {
        printf("If loop N = 0, N = %3lu, sum = %3lu\n", N, sum); // debug print
        return 0;
    } else {
    printf("N greater than 0, PreRecurse sum value = %3lu\n", sum); // debug print
    sum = N + SumNumbersTo (N-1);  // Look recursion here!
    printf ("Recurse N = %3lu, sum = %3lu\n", N, sum); // debug print
    }

printf ("Sum numbers from 1 to %3lu = %3lu\n", N, sum);
   printf ("N = %3lu, sum = %3lu\n", N, sum); // debug print
    return sum;
}

and it puts out the following:
Code:
Pre if loop (N) (sum)  10,   0
N greater than 0, PreRecurse sum value =   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   9,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   8,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   7,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   6,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   5,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   4,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   3,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   2,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   1,   0
Pre if loop (N) (sum)   0,   0
If loop N = 0, N =   0, sum =   0
Recurse N =   1, sum =   1
Sum numbers from 1 to   1 =   1
N =   1, sum =   1
Recurse N =   2, sum =   3
Sum numbers from 1 to   2 =   3