PDA

View Full Version : 12" PB demo recording - Line In or iMic?




worldwearyeyes
Jan 11, 2006, 11:34 AM
I'm trying to record some simple demo tracks using garageband 2 on my 1.5ghz PB. The problem is that when I plug the mic into the Line In (via a 1/4->1/8 adaptor), the vocal track can barely be heard, even with all volumes maxed out.

From what I've read, this is a problem with the Line In. Am I better off buying an iMic, or am I missing something? I'm not looking to invest too much into the setup, as I already have other options for higher-grade recording.

cheers...



allan_zip
Jan 11, 2006, 02:02 PM
It could be the mic. Depending on what kind of mic it is it might need phantom power to work. I had an imic but that's only cos the ibook didn't have line in, i only used it for transferring from minidisc and vinyl though.

CanadaRAM
Jan 11, 2006, 02:09 PM
If you can invest $100 - $300 you can get a much better interface from Edirol or M-Audio or similar. But it sounds like you do have a mismatch between your mic and the line level input, can you borrow a preamp or a mixer?

worldwearyeyes
Jan 11, 2006, 02:54 PM
I might be able to borrow a pre-amp from my church.

I'm using a sm58 mic.

faintember
Jan 11, 2006, 02:59 PM
You will need the micpre or a mixer for decent results using your method, or do as CanadaRAM said and spend the money on an audio interface.

worldwearyeyes
Jan 11, 2006, 03:25 PM
Will something like the maudio Buddy do the job? I'd really like to spend under $100.

faintember
Jan 11, 2006, 04:34 PM
Will something like the maudio Buddy do the job? I'd really like to spend under $100.It should be fine, just understand that you will have to adapt the 1/4 out on the Buddy to 1/8 for your PB.

The benefit of a slightly more expensive (sub $200) interface is that it will take the signal and input it to your PB via usb (though firewire is better).

The question for you is do you plan on doing this often? Do you ever want to do more than just one mic at a time? If you are the seldom user, the buddy might be ok, but borrowing a micpre or a mixer would be just as good. If you plan on doing this more often, look at usb or firewire interfaces.

macbodock
Jan 11, 2006, 05:52 PM
I'm trying to record some simple demo tracks using garageband 2 on my 1.5ghz PB. The problem is that when I plug the mic into the Line In (via a 1/4->1/8 adaptor), the vocal track can barely be heard, even with all volumes maxed out.

From what I've read, this is a problem with the Line In. Am I better off buying an iMic, or am I missing something? I'm not looking to invest too much into the setup, as I already have other options for higher-grade recording.

cheers...worldwearyeyes,
Another option would be to buy a USB Microphone like the CO1U (http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=1810&brandID=2) from Samson or the SnowBall (http://www.bluemic.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Products&file=index&prod_id=18) from B.L.U.E.($80 & $140). Even though the price is more than an iMic the quality might be worth it.

Kindest Regards,

allan_zip
Jan 12, 2006, 03:49 AM
I might be able to borrow a pre-amp from my church.

I'm using a sm58 mic.


sm58 shouldn't need phantom power, it's a 'dynamic' mic. not sure what the problem could be. A cheap option could be the Audio-Technica at25 stereo mic, well under $100. Runs on batteries.
Sound quality can be subjective, i read recently that David Pajo recorded one of the tracks on his new LP directly from the built in mic on his powerbook into Garageband!!! Havn't picked it up yet so i can't say how it sounds.

worldwearyeyes
Jan 12, 2006, 09:45 AM
Would it have anything to do with the 1/4->1/8 adaptor I bought? I got it from Radio Shack...nothing special.

allan_zip
Jan 12, 2006, 11:54 AM
The adaptor should be fine. You mentioned you tried it out with all the recording levels at max, did you make the adjustments in 'Garageband' and in 'Audio Midi Setup'? That's all i can think of, other than a dodgy mic:confused:

faintember
Jan 12, 2006, 06:44 PM
Would it have anything to do with the 1/4->1/8 adaptor I bought? I got it from Radio Shack...nothing special.No, the Line in needs LINE LEVEL input. The adapter method without an preamp or mixer, etc. will not give you line level, hince the low levels.

So you need to boost your audio signal to line level before it goes into the Line in.

worldwearyeyes
Jan 12, 2006, 10:45 PM
No, the Line in needs LINE LEVEL input. The adapter method without an preamp or mixer, etc. will not give you line level, hince the low levels.

So you need to boost your audio signal to line level before it goes into the Line in.
cheers...

worldwearyeyes
Jan 13, 2006, 11:23 AM
No, the Line in needs LINE LEVEL input. The adapter method without an preamp or mixer, etc. will not give you line level, hince the low levels.

So you need to boost your audio signal to line level before it goes into the Line in.
So would the iMic be a better alternative than the line-in, assuming I don't purchase a preamp or mixer? Again, this is for very simple demo recording.

faintember
Jan 13, 2006, 02:30 PM
So would the iMic be a better alternative than the line-in, assuming I don't purchase a preamp or mixer? Again, this is for very simple demo recording.
I think it will be better than what you are getting now. It has a selection for line in or mic in (you want mic in) but you want to try to get the mic as far away from the computer as possible to avoid picking up hum. Also, make sure that the mic cable is away from any electrical cables. If you are not uber or moderately serious, then it will be fine if you follow the above ideas. Note that you will still have to use an 1/8" input.

Good luck!