PDA

View Full Version : iBook RAM question




skippydumptruck
Jan 11, 2006, 11:50 AM
I have a 12" current revision iBook (G4 1.33). I currently have 1.5GB of RAM in two modules: the module that came with (512) and a separate module I purchased (1 GB). I just learned a little about DDR, and I was wondering - would it make sense for me to sell the 1GB module and purchase a matched 512 to replace it in order to take advantage of the DDR? What would be the pros and cons associated with this move? And finally, if it is a good idea, how would I determine what a "matched" module is? Thanks!



reh
Jan 11, 2006, 12:22 PM
iBook RAM does not need to be installed in pairs. It would be silly to downgrade from 1.5gig to 1.0gig.

CanadaRAM
Jan 11, 2006, 12:27 PM
I have a 12" current revision iBook (G4 1.33). I currently have 1.5GB of RAM in two modules: the module that came with (512) and a separate module I purchased (1 GB). I just learned a little about DDR, and I was wondering - would it make sense for me to sell the 1GB module and purchase a matched 512 to replace it in order to take advantage of the DDR? What would be the pros and cons associated with this move? And finally, if it is a good idea, how would I determine what a "matched" module is? Thanks!
The iBook has only one memory socket, the 512 initial RAM is soldered onto the motherboard, so you cannot do what you are proposing. THere is no advantage, even with Powerbooks that have 2 sockets, to matching RAM, because they cannot take advantage of dual channel access. Dual channel access is only possible if it has been engineered into the motherboard hardware: only the PowerMac G5's have this.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

skippydumptruck
Jan 11, 2006, 12:34 PM
The iBook has only one memory socket, the 512 initial RAM is soldered onto the motherboard, so you cannot do what you are proposing. THere is no advantage, even with Powerbooks that have 2 sockets, to matching RAM, because they cannot take advantage of dual channel access. Dual channel access is only possible if it has been engineered into the motherboard hardware: only the PowerMac G5's have this.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

Wait, so even though the iBook supports DDR RAM (http://www.apple.com/ibook/specs.html), it... doesn't?