PDA

View Full Version : Do Intel iMacs have dual channel RAM?




bradz_id
Jan 12, 2006, 05:07 AM
The Intel 945 Chipset that I assume is in the iMac supports Dual Channel Memory. I am waiting to find this out before I order some RAM for the Intel iMac I have on order. If it supports dual channel, i'll buy a couple of good 512mb sticks in a matched pair and sell the one included but if it doesn't, i'll just buy a 1GB stick and add it to the 512 to make 1.5GB. Anyone know?



MacRumorUser
Jan 12, 2006, 05:27 AM
Looks like the memory doesn't have to be paired at all.

From Crucial's website

1 GB—CT500622
DDR2 PC2-5300
CL=5
NON-ECC
€108.99

The Cas Latency doesn't seem great does it?

Also it's the exact same memory in the MacBookPro

BakedBeans
Jan 12, 2006, 05:35 AM
DDR2 PC2-5300 • CL=5 • UNBUFFERED • NON-ECC • DDR2-667 • 1.8V • 128Meg x 64

to get the fastest speed from them they would need to be the same wouldnt they

enter canadaRAM stage left

Hydra
Jan 14, 2006, 01:55 AM
So any word on the possible dual channel support? I'd really much like to know.

y0zza
Jan 14, 2006, 09:35 AM
Yes, the 945PM chipset does support dual-channel DDR2. The 'more info' link on Apple's iMac BTO page states that the modules should be added in pairs for maximum performance.