PDA

View Full Version : Exposé - Pretty Paterns


BakedBeans
Jan 19, 2006, 10:02 AM
OK, so a bit of a strange one admittedly but lets see who can make the best patterns using expose - here is one to start us off

http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/6214/expospattern13rt.jpg

HungrySeacow
Jan 19, 2006, 01:38 PM
I want your background image! I remember seeing that a while ago, but the guy never posted a link :P. Could you please? :) :) :)

Plymouthbreezer
Jan 19, 2006, 04:43 PM
I want your background image! I remember seeing that a while ago, but the guy never posted a link :P. Could you please? :) :) :)
I did too!

http://www.gigapxl.org/gallery.htm

EricNau
Jan 19, 2006, 04:55 PM
All of mine look ugly. :o

matt459
Jan 21, 2006, 05:59 AM
This isn't really anything special, I just like the way my Stickies show up.

~Matt

Kernow
Jan 21, 2006, 07:15 AM
It's not really an expose pattern, but it happened because of expose

I was minimising iTunes and I hit F9 for expose all windows at the same time. Something obviously 'caught' because when I maximised iTunes from the dock, the window was only about half the size it normally is - all the controls, text etc had shrunk. None of the buttons worked and I couldn't move the window, but I left it like that for quite a while as I quite liked the shrunken look. It went back to normal when I next used expose.

It's not that clear in the screen capture, but if you compare the size of the buttons & text in the iTunes window, you should be able to see that it is a lot smaller.

Benjamindaines
Jan 21, 2006, 09:53 AM
It's not really an expose pattern, but it happened because of expose

I was minimising iTunes and I hit F9 for expose all windows at the same time. Something obviously 'caught' because when I maximised iTunes from the dock, the window was only about half the size it normally is - all the controls, text etc had shrunk. None of the buttons worked and I couldn't move the window, but I left it like that for quite a while as I quite liked the shrunken look. It went back to normal when I next used expose.

It's not that clear in the screen capture, but if you compare the size of the buttons & text in the iTunes window, you should be able to see that it is a lot smaller.
That looks really cool, so i did it and got it to work but its a shame you cant use the window when its in "mini mode"

http://images2.pictiger.com/thumbs/d1/de5224dde0ef4235a86f20fa62d076d1.th.jpg (http://server2.pictiger.com/img/15644/picture-hosting/-users-ben-desktop-picture-1.php)

dr427
Jan 21, 2006, 10:01 AM
I did too!

http://www.gigapxl.org/gallery.htm

Thank you!

Kernow
Jan 21, 2006, 10:11 AM
That looks really cool, so i did it and got it to work but its a shame you cant use the window when its in "mini mode"


Cool :) I haven't been able to repeat it again - the mini iTunes window appears, but then immediately flicks back to the full size version. Glad that someone else has got it to work - it means I'm not going mad.

MacNeXT
Jan 21, 2006, 10:55 AM
It is fun to see how the algorithm behind it works. If all windows are of the same size and are at the exact same position, completely overlapping the other windows, they are placed in a row. But displacing only window even one pixel down, makes the arrangement totally different.

What a useless observation. I should get to work...

Plymouthbreezer
Jan 21, 2006, 01:10 PM
Meh, not all that pretty:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v455/300hemic/Expos1.jpg

dornoforpyros
Jan 21, 2006, 02:10 PM
very symmetrical!

joshysquashy
Jan 21, 2006, 02:18 PM
very symmetrical!
I think that happens when you have many windows open?

goodtimes5
Jan 21, 2006, 02:18 PM
very symmetrical!

Wow, what happened to Safari's tabs option?

dornoforpyros
Jan 21, 2006, 02:27 PM
tabs? what are tabs? :P

lol no no I just opened a bunch of windows to show the amazing row I could make with expose. Obviously I normally use tabs

Sogo
Jan 21, 2006, 02:27 PM
very symmetrical!

Well, to this day i think that is some kind of bug. That has happened to me serveral times and is rather annoying since it kinda disables expose. it makes it harder to find what i want.

dornoforpyros
Jan 21, 2006, 02:29 PM
Well, to this day i think that is some kind of bug. That has happened to me serveral times and is rather annoying since it kinda disables expose since i now have to look harder for what I want.

eh it seems the only time it happens if you only have safari windows open to the same size, ussually I've got adium open as well so it doesn't happen.

CoMpX
Jan 30, 2006, 08:17 PM
Same thing will all blank pages.
http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/6056/picture18kj.th.png (http://img38.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture18kj.png)

yudilks
Jan 31, 2006, 01:53 AM
Hmm, quite random eh...